fantasy · Ghost story · thriller

The Twisted Tree – Rachel Burge ★★★★

Blurb; Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

My Review; This is one from my library pile and I got it because of the gorgeous cover, it did not disappoint me. As stated above part ghost story, part thriller and part fantasy. It made a brilliant read.

It was an easy read for me which I devoured in two sittings at only 230 pages long it didn’t take long. Parts of this story had me scared and jumping out of my skin! It’s a twisted story but one with a happy ending. I loved Martha’s character she’s brave, strong and clever.

I was hooked. Something different. Brilliantly written and one thats hard to forget. Fast paced. I really enjoyed reading this one and highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Creepy read.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s