contemporary · romance

Here is the Beehive – Sarah Crossan ★★★★

Blurb; A brilliantly original debut about a love affair cut short, and how lonely it is to live inside a secret — for fans of Sally Rooney, Sheila Heti, and Ottessa Moshfegh.

Ana Kelly can deal with death. As an estate lawyer, an unfortunate part of her day-to-day is phone calls from the next of kin informing her that one of her clients has died. But nothing could have prepared Ana for the call from Rebecca Taylor, explaining in a strangely calm tone that her husband Connor was killed in an accident.

Ana had been having an affair with Connor for three years, keeping their love secret in hotel rooms, weekends away, and swiftly deleted text messages. Though consuming, they hide their love well, and nobody knows of their relationship except Mark, Connor’s best friend.

Alone and undone, Ana seeks friendship with the person who she once thought of as her adversary and opposite, but who is now the only one who shares her pain — Rebecca. As Ana becomes closer to her lover’s widow, she is forced to reconcile painful truths about the affair, and the fickleness of love and desire.

Funny, frank, and strange, Sarah Crossan’s moving novel is wholly original and deeply resonant.

My Review; I have read a lot of books by this author so this was a must read for me. I love her unique writing style of poetry format which tells the story making her books easy reads but enjoyable ones too. This is a story about an affair, death, betrayal and love.

Beautifully written and a gorgeous cover. I loved it! Devoured it in a day. Have to feel for the main character and her loss as she can’t acknowledge as noone knew about their affair or love, she’s angry, upset and mourning herself while having to work with his wife after his death. She’s his solicitor. Would highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s