chick-lit · Christmas · romance

A Christmas Gift – Sue Moorcroft. ★★★★

Blurb; A sumptuous, festive read from the #1 bestseller, Sue Moorcroft.

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My Review; This is another from my library pile after the poop year we have had I picked up some Christmas books to get me into the spirit. However, this isn’t an uplifting, romance, perfect Christmas. This story focuses on the production of a play and an old friend (Joe) returning from the past. The story also includes talks of debt and ballifs so not all that festive of a read for me.

However, it was a brilliant story and I really enjoyed it, it just wasn’t what I expected at first. The story all comes together towards the end where it does turn into a proper Christmas, happy, successful story. The play is going ahead and fantastic. While we learn all about Joe and his secret life he wanted to keep hidden… Intriguing. An easy read. Different from the ‘normal’ Christmas stories. A little bit of romance towards the end.

A well deserved four stars from me. I would recommend! You’ve got to remember life still goes on at Christmas and many people struggle and don’t like it and that’s included in this story. Ballifs don’t stop for the festive period and neither does debt.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s