Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s