mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Street Party – Claire Seeber ★★★★

Blurb; The party was supposed to be the highlight of the summer. If only I’d known that night would destroy our lives…

All the neighbours were laughing, drinking out of plastic glasses and getting along. I almost felt happy. Almost forgot about the terrible argument earlier and the sinister messages I’d been receiving from a strange address all week, threatening to expose the lies behind my perfect life.

As we finished with the red and gold fireworks and welcomed everyone back to our house, I believed that everything would be okay.

But I didn’t know who I was inviting in.

I never could have imagined what would happen here, in our home, after I’d gone up to bed.

Everyone saw something different.

It’s my daughter’s word against the story the boy from down the road is telling. But how can I find out what really happened that night without everyone finding out the truth about me?

My Review; For me this is more drama than thriller. The story focuses on three ladies Ruby, Melissa & Nella and is told through each of them. It took me a while to get into this story and get use to each of the characters but I soon devoured this one over two days. The street party itself comes into the book much later on there is a lot before then. The opening had me intrigued to find out what was going on so had me hooked. Not a neighbourhood I’d like to live in.

It is well written. Shortish chapters. Easy reading. I enjoyed it. Its highlights that even if we all witness the same event, we all see it differently. So whose to say who is right and who is wrong here? I also love the cover on this one, eye catching. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Stay Home – Ava Pierce ★★★★

Blurb; LOCKED DOORS DON’T KEEP SECRETS SAFE

LOCK YOUR DOORS

Caitlin has been having an affair for over a year when the country enters lock down. Suddenly, seeing her lover, Daniel, without alerting her husband becomes almost impossible. When she does manage to sneak to his home, she finds him lying in a pool of his own blood, dead.

STAY HOME

Ali is a just-about-functioning alcoholic, recently laid off, and feeling rather lonely. Each day she goes to her local shop to buy her permitted two bottles of wine, leaving food parcels for neighbors on her way home. While keeping an eye on what they are up to, of course.

STAY SAFE

Caitlin can’t tell a soul about what she has discovered for the risk of losing her family. Little does she know that Ali has noticed her coming and going and that she will be drawing her own conclusions.
As Caitlin delves into the life of the man who said he loved her, she finds that maybe she didn’t really know him at all. But if she wants to avoid suspicion, she needs to keep digging until they find Daniel’s killer. Because the doors may be locked, but everyone’s secrets are starting to leak out . . .

Stay Home is a timely story of dark secrets – affairs, addictions, habits and horrors – which are bought to the surface by these unprecedented times we find ourselves in. It explores the dark parts of people’s lives, while at the same time leading us on a breath-takingly twisty race to find a killer.

My Review; Oh wow. I knew it was coming but I’ve just read my first pandemic book! Now this seems its either a love it or hate it book. Maybe it was published too soon after Covid 19? Who knows. I am on the side of love. I absolutely loved this. Think covid 19 lockdown but with a murder, affairs and one nosey neighbour.

This kept me hooked and I devoured the majority of this book in one day. Gripping. Thrilling. Fast paced. Page turner. There’s a lot to this story. An unlikely friendship and death. I would never have guessed the outcome at all. Its a jaw dropping, clever outcome. Maybe non of this would have happened if people just stayed home huh?

Highly recommend. Will remember this story for a long time and I suppose there will be more pandemic books to come in the future but this was my first. A well deserved four stars. Brilliantly written.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US