fantasy · Historical fiction

The Singular & Extraordinary Tale of Mirror & Goliath – Ishbelle Bee ★★★★

Blurb; 1888. A little girl called Mirror and her shape-shifting guardian Goliath Honeyflower are washed up on the shores of Victorian England. Something has been wrong with Mirror since the day her grandfather locked her inside a mysterious clock that was painted all over with ladybirds. Mirror does not know what she is, but she knows she is no longer human.

John Loveheart, meanwhile, was not born wicked. But after the sinister death of his parents, he was taken by Mr. Fingers, the demon lord of the underworld. Some say he is mad. John would be inclined to agree.

Now Mr Fingers is determined to find the little girl called Mirror, whose flesh he intends to eat, and whose soul is the key to his eternal reign. And John Loveheart has been called by his otherworldly father to help him track Mirror down…

My Review; This is another off the library pile and I picked this up purely because of the cover, it is eye catching and absolutely gorgeous. The story was brilliant! An easy read. A wierd read, but I absolutely loved it and enjoyed it all. The ending was different and wierd but suited the story perfectly.

There are many unique characters in this story and some were just one of a kind, wierd, absurd and twisted. You need an imagination to read this story as this will just blow your mind. I cannot wait to read the next one by this author which also has a gorgeous cover. Highly recommend if you’re looking for something wierd and different. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy

The Gospel of Loki – Joanne M. Harris ★★★★

Blurb; The novel is a brilliant first-person narrative of the rise and fall of the Norse gods – retold from the point of view of the world’s ultimate trickster, Loki. It tells the story of Loki’s recruitment from the underworld of Chaos, his many exploits on behalf of his one-eyed master, Odin, through to his eventual betrayal of the gods and the fall of Asgard itself. Using her life-long passion for the Norse myths, Joanne Harris has created a vibrant and powerful fantasy novel.

Loki, that’s me.

Loki, the Light-Bringer, the misunderstood, the elusive, the handsome and modest hero of this particular tissue of lies. Take it with a pinch of salt, but it’s at least as true as the official version, and, dare I say it, more entertaining.

So far, history, such as it is, has cast me in a rather unflattering role.

Now it’s my turn to take the stage.

With his notorious reputation for trickery and deception, and an ability to cause as many problems as he solves, Loki is a Norse god like no other. Demon-born, he is viewed with deepest suspicion by his fellow gods who will never accept him as one of their own and for this he vows to take his revenge.

From his recruitment by Odin from the realm of Chaos, through his years as the go-to man of Asgard, to his fall from grace in the build-up to Ragnarok, this is the unofficial history of the world’s ultimate trickster.

My Review; This is another from my library pile and another gorgeous cover. After reading this authors The Blue Salt Lane, I had to read more by her and this didn’t disappoint. It was different as Loki is narrating the story throughout (first person) which I don’t read a lot of, but it made the story a bit more personal and funnier in parts.

Loki is one funny, devious, clever and manipulative character but I wierdly love him for it. He’s definately a one of kind character. Memorable. This story does end on a major cliffhanger uhhh, but I have the next book so I can dive in. Brilliantly written. Plenty going on in the story to keep the pages turning, Loki is always up to something…

Looking forward to the next book. Highly recommed. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · Ghost story · thriller

The Twisted Tree – Rachel Burge ★★★★

Blurb; Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

My Review; This is one from my library pile and I got it because of the gorgeous cover, it did not disappoint me. As stated above part ghost story, part thriller and part fantasy. It made a brilliant read.

It was an easy read for me which I devoured in two sittings at only 230 pages long it didn’t take long. Parts of this story had me scared and jumping out of my skin! It’s a twisted story but one with a happy ending. I loved Martha’s character she’s brave, strong and clever.

I was hooked. Something different. Brilliantly written and one thats hard to forget. Fast paced. I really enjoyed reading this one and highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Creepy read.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US