chick-lit · Comedy · romance

Just Another Silly Love Song – Rich Amooi ★★★★

Blurb; New from the King of Romantic Comedy!

Two rival radio personalities. Lori Martin is a positive and upbeat DJ, known for playing love songs and dedications. Ben Baxter dishes out no-nonsense, in-your-face relationship advice. Total opposites. Never in a million years would they want to work together.

Fired for losing her cool after her boyfriend breaks up with her on the air, Lori surprisingly receives a job offer for the coveted morning show at the radio station across town where Ben works. She thinks she’s replacing him, but finds out they want to team up Lori with her archenemy to set the air waves on fire and boost ratings. Financially strapped, she can’t turn down the job.

While their on-air fireworks and explosive chemistry make for great listening, what in the world will happen after work hours?

My Review; This is another recommended by fellow blogger Melanie Reads. Another great choice. Brilliant. From the start I loved it. It’s a romantic comedy, feel good, uplifting and laugh out loud funny in parts story. An easy read. Enjoyed it all. Not one I would have chosen for myself so I’m glad I did get the chance to read it.

Loved the two main characters Lori and Ben. The banter they have between each other. Kind of similar to enemies to lovers at the start, or opposites attract maybe? But they soon have to work together to get the number one radio show and along the way they find out they both have a lot more in common than they think…

Highly recommend. Beautiful outcome and ending for more than one character. An easy, short read that is bound to make you smile. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

chick-lit · romance

The Hopes & Dreams of Libby Quinn – Freya Kennedy. ★★★★

Blurb; A gorgeous new romantic comedy about taking chances and realising your dreams. Libby Quinn is sick and tired of being sensible.

After years of slogging her guts out for nothing at a PR company, she finds herself redundant and about to plough every last penny of her savings into refurbishing a ramshackle shop and making her dream become a reality.

She hopes the opening of the (name) bookshop on Ivy Lane will be the perfect tribute to her beloved grandfather who instilled a love of reading and books in her from an early age.

When her love life and friendships become even more
complicated – will Libby have the courage to follow her dreams? Or has she bitten off more than she can chew?

My Review; This was recommended to me by Mel from Melanie’s Read and she even gifted it me. Thank you! What an amazing book. It’s one I would never have read if Mel hadn’t recommend it to me and I’m so glad I did read it.

Welcome to Ivy Lane… A cute little town full of amazing characters, friendly, neighbourly and one big team. The story focuses on Libby a huge bookworm who is chasing her and her grandfathers dream to open their own bookshop. Can she do it in time? It’s a huge job, starting from scratch in an old building but I believe in her and with the help of the community she can do it.

Whats better than books than reading about books and bookshops? Nothing. Absolutely loved it all. Especially Neighbour Noah the pub owner. Hot. Single. Friendly. He ticks all the boxes. An easy, fast paced, light hearted and uplifting read. Just what I needed! Perfection. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. Brilliant.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

chick-lit · Christmas · romance

A Christmas Gift – Sue Moorcroft. ★★★★

Blurb; A sumptuous, festive read from the #1 bestseller, Sue Moorcroft.

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My Review; This is another from my library pile after the poop year we have had I picked up some Christmas books to get me into the spirit. However, this isn’t an uplifting, romance, perfect Christmas. This story focuses on the production of a play and an old friend (Joe) returning from the past. The story also includes talks of debt and ballifs so not all that festive of a read for me.

However, it was a brilliant story and I really enjoyed it, it just wasn’t what I expected at first. The story all comes together towards the end where it does turn into a proper Christmas, happy, successful story. The play is going ahead and fantastic. While we learn all about Joe and his secret life he wanted to keep hidden… Intriguing. An easy read. Different from the ‘normal’ Christmas stories. A little bit of romance towards the end.

A well deserved four stars from me. I would recommend! You’ve got to remember life still goes on at Christmas and many people struggle and don’t like it and that’s included in this story. Ballifs don’t stop for the festive period and neither does debt.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US