Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Adventure · Children's · Young adult

Bone Music – David Almond ★★★★

Blurb; This wonderful tale transports the reader from the city to the forests and fells of Northern England. Under a boundless starry sky, the unforgettable Sylvia Carr reconnects with the ancient past and discovers what it really means to be young in the world today.

Sylvia, brave hearted and rebellious, moves into wild Northumberland from the city of Newcastle. She feels alien in this huge, silent, seemingly empty landscape, but then she meets Gabriel, a strange yet familiar boy. As they roam the forests and fells together, she sees nature with new eyes. She becomes aware that the past is all around her, and is deep inside herself. From the wing of a dead buzzard, they create a hollow bone – the kind of flute that was created and used in rituals in the distant past.

This is a book of hope and joy – a book that celebrates humanity and explores the deep connections between ourselves and nature. It is timely and original. It speaks to young people about what it really is to be a human being alive today.

My Review; Let’s start with this gorgeous cover. Amazing. Eye catching. Love it. Now this is a story for older, more mature children. It’s a beautiful story. Two hundred pages long. It took me a while to get into it personally and I did find parts a bit wierd but then I just fell in love. I really did. Meet Slyvia, she’s come to the middle of nowhere literally from her busy city life. There no WiFi, no signal just nature & forest surround her.

Will she settle here? Make friends? Find herself? A new hobby? This book relates to the past us. The history of humans. How that relates to nature and animals. Its an outstanding read. But for a mature reader who will understand the meaning of this book. Its beautiful. Loved it all. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Apologies I could not find a US link to this book. 😦

Children's

The Accidental Prime Minister Returns – Tom McLaughlin ★★★★

Blurb; In the Accidental Prime Minister, Joe Perkins was trying to save his local park when he accidentally ended up being Prime Minster.

In this hilarious sequel, Joe is back. The people need someone to remind them about the good things in life; about how we can all come together to make the world a better place.

Where there is grumpiness, may we bring giggles, where there is jelly, may we bring ice-cream, and where there are chairs, may we bring whoopee cushions!

Joe Perkins, first kid PM, is back and ready to make politics fun again

My Review; This is book two in the Accidental Prime Minister set but it read perfectly fine as a Standalone. There is a whole Accidental series and a whole range of jobs and accidents to enjoy. Perfect for fans of David Walliams. Children will love this whole new world where they as children are in charge for a change instead of us adults.

In this book we see Joe as the Prime Minister (PM) running the country. However it soon becomes apparent he should not be the PM. Which leads us to a debate and election… This story is actually really good for letting children get a glimpse into politics, elections and voting etc. It also highlights that with power comes great responsibility and sometimes that can turn people evil & nasty.

A brilliant read. I loved how at the end the author gives us two different endings and then asks the reader which one they preferred so it’s a very engaging read. Illustrated throughout beautiful. I enjoyed it and I’m 26. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars.

Amazon Link UK

Apologies I could not find a US link.