Christmas · romance · Short Stories · Young adult

This Winter – Alice Oseman ★★★★

Blurb; The festive season isn’t always happy for Tori Spring and her brother Charlie. And this year’s going to be harder than most.

I used to think that difficult was better than boring, but I know better now…

I’m not going to think about the past few months, about Charlie and me, and all of the sad. I’m going to block it all out Just for today.

“Happy Christmas, ” I say.

My Review; Did you love the Heartstopper graphic novels? Are you a fan of Charlie & Nick? Then this is a perfect short novella for you… Christmas. Tori (Charlie’s sister). Nick & family. Illustrated throughout, an easy festive read with the characters we have come to adore. However, it may not be quite the perfect Christmas Charlie hoped for while he still struggles with his eating disorder.

I could read about these characters all day. Beautiful story. Beautiful bonds. Loved it. Going to miss these lot. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

chick-lit · Christmas · romance

*BLOG TOUR* The Boardwalk by the Sea: Winter Whimsy – Georgina Troy ★★★★

Blurb;

Zip up your puffer coat, winter has arrived!

When Lexi Davies discovers that her father has sold the fishermen’s cottages she runs as holiday lets and where she also lives, she is heartbroken. Then Oliver Whimsy arrives at the boardwalk and announces that he is the new owner and Lexi realises that the future she was looking forward to enjoying at her cottages is over. Oliver might be handsome, wealthy and very sexy, but he’s new to the island and has already made a terrible impression on the locals. When the Scottish entrepreneur offers Lexi a job, she’s unsure whether she should accept. Unfortunately, she has little alternative if she wants to keep a roof over her head for the winter.

As Lexi gets to know him better, she discovers there’s far more to Oliver Whimsy than she or anyone else had imagined. Just what is the heartache Oliver’s trying so desperately to hide? And why was he so determined to buy the cottages? Lexi wants to find out, but in order to do so she’s going to have to spend rather a lot of time with him…

My Review; This is book three in the boardwalk by the sea series, so I came in very late to this series but it read perfectly as a standalone for myself and gives me the option to go back to the previous two books. Woo hoo. I absolutely loved it.

This story focuses on Lexi who owns and rents out some lovely cottages in this beautiful small town on an island. The description of this place sounds amazing. Friendly town, friendly community, beautiful settings and views. Add a dash of snow and winter. Bingo. One to cosy up with.

Lexi soon finds herself in a situation however which introduces us to Oliver. Phew. What a man. Let’s see what happens now eh? He’s certainly one to watch! Not like a lot of blokes. He was a lovely, charming and open character from the start for me. Throughout this story you really get the whole community coming together all helping each other which is lovely.

A beautiful ending. A cosy, warm, uplifting read. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

chick-lit · Christmas · romance

A Christmas Gift – Sue Moorcroft. ★★★★

Blurb; A sumptuous, festive read from the #1 bestseller, Sue Moorcroft.

Georgine loves Christmas. The festive season always brings the little village of Middledip to life. But since her ex-boyfriend walked out, leaving her with crippling debts, Georgine’s struggled to make ends meet.

To keep her mind off her worries, she throws herself into organising the Christmas show at the local school. And when handsome Joe Blackthorn becomes her assistant, Georgine’s grateful for the help. But there’s something about Joe she can’t quite put her finger on. Could there be more to him than meets the eye?

Georgine’s past is going to catch up with her in ways she never expected. But can the help of friends new and old make this a Christmas to remember after all?

Curl up with the gorgeous new book from the Sunday Times bestseller, perfect for fans of Carole Matthews and Trisha Ashley.

My Review; This is another from my library pile after the poop year we have had I picked up some Christmas books to get me into the spirit. However, this isn’t an uplifting, romance, perfect Christmas. This story focuses on the production of a play and an old friend (Joe) returning from the past. The story also includes talks of debt and ballifs so not all that festive of a read for me.

However, it was a brilliant story and I really enjoyed it, it just wasn’t what I expected at first. The story all comes together towards the end where it does turn into a proper Christmas, happy, successful story. The play is going ahead and fantastic. While we learn all about Joe and his secret life he wanted to keep hidden… Intriguing. An easy read. Different from the ‘normal’ Christmas stories. A little bit of romance towards the end.

A well deserved four stars from me. I would recommend! You’ve got to remember life still goes on at Christmas and many people struggle and don’t like it and that’s included in this story. Ballifs don’t stop for the festive period and neither does debt.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US