Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

chick-lit · Comedy · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Daisy’s Dilemma – Debbie Viggiano ★★★★★

Blurb; Florist Daisy is loved-up and blossoming. Boyfriend Dominic has proposed marriage!

However, Dominic isn’t in any rush to buy a ring, and meeting the parents is looong overdue. What is the problem? After all, Daisy’s mum has already bought her big hat and wants to know the wedding date!

Then careless words plant seeds of doubt and, like weed, Daisy’s concerns begin to multiply. Is Dominic hiding something?

Meanwhile, sexy ex Harry is back on the scene and begging Daisy for a reconciliation. He thought the grass was greener with HER but now says he made a mistake. Is Harry – for once – being genuine, or simply leading Daisy up the garden path?

New neighbour Seth seems like a fun guy, but a single throwaway comment has Daisy mimicking a species of Calla Lily – Red Alert! It’s time to do some digging. But even she never anticipated a mad car chase across London or unearthing a shocking secret that changes everything.

Sparks are set to fly in this gorgeous romantic comedy about love, trust, and new beginnings.

My Review; Where do I even start with this? I devoured this book in the majority of a day. This was just what I needed… A feel good and laugh out loud funny read. Gave me very similar vibes to Bridget Jones. It had me smiling throughout. Daisy is such a funny character I felt like she was a friend.

She has an ex husband. Her current fiance & the hot new neighbour who’s just moved in. She’s surrounded by men but which way will she go? Who will she choose? I loved how she had conversations with herself throughout and doesn’t mind a good drink or three. Her bestie is heavily involved too helping her run Daisys flower business.

The best part had to be when she went into full spy mode & then the ending ofcourse. Beautiful. I loved it all! Highly recommend. The perfect rom-com. A full five stars from me. This is the first book I have read by this author & I am looking forward to reading more after this. Brilliantly written. Easy to devour. Will remember this story for a long time.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Comedy · Short Stories

Emil & the Great Escape – Astrid Lindgren ★★★★

Blurb; This is a collection of charming tales about Emil, the brother who doesn’t mean to be bad. It’s just that trouble – and fun – follow him wherever he goes.”

My Review; This is another short children’s read at just over a hundred pages. It is all about a little boy called Emil. Now Emil is a very naughty, mischievous boy. Within this book are three days/three stories of just how naughty Emil really is.

Now I’m a 26 year old adult and even parts of this made me chuckle. So it will be a hit for children. However they may get some cheeky ideas themselves from this book. There is suppose to be a whole series on this little man but this is the only one I have read and it read perfectly fine as a Standalone. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US