chick-lit · Children's · Comedy

Jacky Ha-Ha – James Patterson & Chris Grabenstein ★★★★

Blurb; In his new middle grade novel that debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list, James Patterson introduces his hilarious new heroine, Jacky Ha-Ha, a class clown who makes people laugh with her so they can’t laugh at her.

With her irresistible urge to tell a joke in every situation–even when she really, really shouldn’t–twelve-year-old Jacky Ha-Ha loves to make people laugh. And cracking wise helps distract her from thinking about not-so-funny things in her life, like her mom serving in a dangerous, faraway war, and a dad who’s hardly ever home.

But no matter how much fun Jacky has, she can’t seem to escape her worries. So one starlit night, she makes a promise to keep her family together…even if she has to give up the one thing that makes her happy. But can she stop being Jacky Ha-Ha, if that’s who she really is?

My Review; Another children’s book I have devoured today at over 300 pages long. This book is extremely similar to Jacqueline Wilson style & her characters which I absolutely adore. An easy read with plenty of illustrations throughout.

Meet Jacky. Class clown. Funny. Sometimes naughty. Mischievous. Top of the class for receiving detentions. But in this story she finds something to put all her attention into. Maybe this is how she could turn herself around? Be someone to be proud of. A brilliant story of using her attitude and jokes for the better… This is Jacky writing to her daughters about her younger years.

Short chapters. Funny. Determined character. I loved Jacky. Highly recommend! A well deserved four stars from me. There is also a follow on from this which I have not found yet. This is book one.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

chick-lit · Comedy · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Twice in a Lifetime -Helga Jensen ★★★★

Blurb; Amelia might have met The One. But is she twenty years too late?

After her husband left her out of the blue, the only relationship 48-year-old Amelia Simpson has enjoyed recently is with Nutella and Pinot Grigio. While her 8-year-old twin boys, Jasper and Rupert, keep her busy, Amelia dreams of a life more than washing muddy rugby kits and weekly chats with best friends Sian and Jamie.

Amelia needs some magic back in her life – but magic seems in short supply in her small Welsh town. So when she finds the phone number that was given to her twenty years ago by a handsome stranger in New York, Amelia wonders whether he might be The One That Got Away. But when Sian takes matters into her own hands, launching a worldwide hunt to find the handsome stranger Amelia met outside Tiffany’s two decades ago, Amelia finds herself on a flight to the Big Apple to reconnect with her ‘Perfect Patrick’. But as the two explore the sights of NYC, has Amelia reconnected with The One? Or will she discover that the sparkle she was missing is actually closer to home?

My Review; What a brilliant read. Starts off with Amelia being cheated on and a divorce. She has twins boys. Middle aged. Works in a bookshop. She trys online dating. That doesn’t work. But then she finds herself reminiscing about the past specifically a man from her past.. but surely its too late to go back there after all these years?

I loved every page. Devoured it. Had me laughing out loud in parts. A funny and uplifting romance. A new start. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. A perfect chick-lit/romance read. Really enjoyed it.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US