crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · thriller

Private Moscow – James Patterson & Adam Hamdy ★★★★

Blurb; Karl Parker, a former Marine and noted African-American telecoms magnate, is killed during an attempted kidnapping that goes badly wrong. His wife, Victoria, hires Jack Morgan, an old comrade and friend, to get to the truth.

In Moscow, Yana Petrov, an unassuming office worker, is brutally murdered in what looks like a gangland execution. Dinara Orlov, the head of Private Moscow, is made an offer she can’t refuse and agrees to investigate Petrov’s death.

Battling against the odds and compelled to face difficult truths, Jack and Dinara uncover old secrets and a geopolitical conspiracy that will permanently change the balance of global power.

My Review; Huge fan of James Patterson as you should all know by know and this did not disappoint! Another brilliant mystery, crime thriller. Fast paced. Devoured it. This is book 15 in the private series but it read fine as a standalone for myself. It is a long story with short chpaters but worth every page.

Investigators find themselves in many tricky situations during this story and even face death several times. This is a mind blowing outcome. Unexpected. Cleverly written. Very impressed. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · Young adult

Ali Cross: Like Father, Like Son – James Patterson ★★★★

Blurb; Ali Cross just solved his first real case.
 
Alex Cross knows it’s only a matter of time before his son finds his way into more trouble.
 
Neither of them expected Ali to get caught up in another case so quickly.
 
Ali and his friends were just hanging out in Anacostia Park…then they became witnesses to a crime.
 
Alex wants Ali to stay far away from the investigation. But Ali isn’t going anywhere, not when his new friend Zoe is in trouble. It’s up to Ali to figure out why she’s lying to the police-and who she’s protecting.
 
This is Ali’s toughest case yet. As long as he trusts his Cross instincts, he may just have a shot at solving it…

My Review; This is book two in the Ali Cross series it would read okay as a Standalone but I love this series so would recommend in order. After loving book one I had to read book two and it did not disappoint. After book one and the case solved there is bound to be more cases/mysteries and there is…

Another of Ali’s friends gets into trouble this time over a gun shot… Can he figure it all out? There is so much to this story. Plenty of twists, turns and heart stopping moments for the reader. Fast paced, edge of your seat read. An easy read with short chapters. One I devoured in one sitting.

I cannot wait to see what lies ahead for this series. Fingers crossed for more. Brilliant YA mystery/crime. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Detective · mystery · suspense

A Girl Called Justice: The Ghost in the Garden – Elly Griffiths ★★★★

Blurb; Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her third spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

Justice and her friends are third years now and there’s an intriguing new girl in Barnowls. Letitia has never been to school before and doesn’t care for the rules – and the teachers don’t seem to mind! She decides that Justice is her particular friend, much to Stella and Dorothy’s distress. But Letitia just isn’t the kind of girl you say no to.

Then, after a midnight feast in the barn, and a terrifying ghost-sighting in the garden, a girl disappears. Soon ransom notes appear, and they’re torn from the pages of a crime novel.

Where is the schoolgirl and who has taken her? It will take all of Justice’s sleuthing to unravel this mystery!

My Review; This is suitable for younger readers and at just under 200 pages it’s a short, snappy read. An easy read. But one full of mystery, Adventure and detective skills. This is book three in a series which I didn’t know at the time but reads well as a Standalone.

The story focuses on the main character Justice. Set at a boarding school wierd things begin to happen and the new girl goes missing… presumed kidnapped. Plenty of twists and turns to this outcome. A great little mystery/detective read for younger ones. Brilliantly written. I loved it. Devoured it. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US