fantasy · Ghost story · thriller

The Twisted Tree – Rachel Burge ★★★★

Blurb; Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

My Review; This is one from my library pile and I got it because of the gorgeous cover, it did not disappoint me. As stated above part ghost story, part thriller and part fantasy. It made a brilliant read.

It was an easy read for me which I devoured in two sittings at only 230 pages long it didn’t take long. Parts of this story had me scared and jumping out of my skin! It’s a twisted story but one with a happy ending. I loved Martha’s character she’s brave, strong and clever.

I was hooked. Something different. Brilliantly written and one thats hard to forget. Fast paced. I really enjoyed reading this one and highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Creepy read.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Ghost story · horror · Killers · paranormal · Short Stories · suspense · thriller

The Warden – D.P. Tighe ★★★★★

Now I need to start by apologizing for how quiet myself, my blog and my social media sites have been recently and that is because I have been struggling to concentrate on reading lately and have given myself a well deserved break!

Blurb:
Alice has lead a pretty normal life up until now. She wakes up finding herself trapped in a sick game of survival within the walls of an old asylum. She has to fight her way out while facing many psychotic enemies, no one said they were all living psychopaths though…
When she discovers how she actually got there she is forced to make some difficult decisions.
Will Alice survive the horror games?

My Review:
I must admit getting yourself out of a book slump for as long as I have been in mine lately is hard… BUT this book got me out of my slump!!! HURRAH! YAY. I’m back.

I awarded a well deserved five stars for this story, but it does come with a few warnings. The Warden SHOULD NOT be read at night especially if you’re alone, you will need to keep the light on for this story. Secondly, you will need a strong stomach as parts of this story made my stomach turn, you’ve been warned! Lastly, I would highly recommend you’re over 16 years of age to read this story personally.

The Warden is book one in the Twisted Minds series with a second book to follow in the future. You will need to be a patient reader as you will be hanging from a tall cliff after this book till you can dive back into book two. If you haven’t guessed already The Warden is a horror unlike any other I have read, it has EVERYTHING you would hate… The darkest most twisted scenarios you can think of. The only other thing I could compare it too is Saw, very similar but different!

The Warden is written well, easy to read and contains short chapters throughout. This is only a short story which can easily be devoured within a few hours and contains 114 pages of your worst nightmare..

If this sounds like your kind of horror I do have a SIGNED COPY to giveaway over on my Facebook page so keep your eyes peeled! I am now off to read something far more romantic and soft than this before my mind is haunted for life…

Amazon Link (UK) << Currently £2.44
Amazon Link (US) << Currently $3.22

fantasy · Ghost story · mystery · Short Stories · suspense · thriller

Find Me – E.J Bennett ✶✶✶✶✶

find-me

With no one to believe her, Mia finds herself thrust from college and into her deceased Grandmother’s decrepit home. Returning to the place she swore she’d never return, her haunting childhood comes back with a vengeance. Forced to stay in the deadly house, will she uncover the house’s haunting past before it’s too late? What bone chilling secrets does the house hide?

Thank you to the author for allowing me a copy in exchange for an honest review. Find Me is a short story (33 Pages) but a brilliantly written spooky story. I was hooked! What a scary house with a spooky history. I really enjoyed it! Yes, I wanted more. I think it could be adapted into a longer story if the author chooses too but its a perfect short story which took me ten minutes to read! I would highly recommend it to you all as a quick fix to read. Just maybe not alone in bed in the dark!

Find Me goes live on Amazon on the 1st of October and will be able to pre-order ready for its release on the 28th of October. Find me is the perfect book for readers who enjoy short stories, ghost stories, fantasy, mystery, suspense and thrillers all mixed into one spooky spectacular short story. Brilliant. Enjoy, I did.