crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · Young adult

Ali Cross: Like Father, Like Son – James Patterson ★★★★

Blurb; Ali Cross just solved his first real case.
 
Alex Cross knows it’s only a matter of time before his son finds his way into more trouble.
 
Neither of them expected Ali to get caught up in another case so quickly.
 
Ali and his friends were just hanging out in Anacostia Park…then they became witnesses to a crime.
 
Alex wants Ali to stay far away from the investigation. But Ali isn’t going anywhere, not when his new friend Zoe is in trouble. It’s up to Ali to figure out why she’s lying to the police-and who she’s protecting.
 
This is Ali’s toughest case yet. As long as he trusts his Cross instincts, he may just have a shot at solving it…

My Review; This is book two in the Ali Cross series it would read okay as a Standalone but I love this series so would recommend in order. After loving book one I had to read book two and it did not disappoint. After book one and the case solved there is bound to be more cases/mysteries and there is…

Another of Ali’s friends gets into trouble this time over a gun shot… Can he figure it all out? There is so much to this story. Plenty of twists, turns and heart stopping moments for the reader. Fast paced, edge of your seat read. An easy read with short chapters. One I devoured in one sitting.

I cannot wait to see what lies ahead for this series. Fingers crossed for more. Brilliant YA mystery/crime. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Detective · mystery · suspense

A Girl Called Justice: The Ghost in the Garden – Elly Griffiths ★★★★

Blurb; Justice Jones, super-smart super-sleuth, is back for her third spine-tingling adventure! For fans of Robin Stevens, Katherine Woodfine and Enid Blyton.

Justice and her friends are third years now and there’s an intriguing new girl in Barnowls. Letitia has never been to school before and doesn’t care for the rules – and the teachers don’t seem to mind! She decides that Justice is her particular friend, much to Stella and Dorothy’s distress. But Letitia just isn’t the kind of girl you say no to.

Then, after a midnight feast in the barn, and a terrifying ghost-sighting in the garden, a girl disappears. Soon ransom notes appear, and they’re torn from the pages of a crime novel.

Where is the schoolgirl and who has taken her? It will take all of Justice’s sleuthing to unravel this mystery!

My Review; This is suitable for younger readers and at just under 200 pages it’s a short, snappy read. An easy read. But one full of mystery, Adventure and detective skills. This is book three in a series which I didn’t know at the time but reads well as a Standalone.

The story focuses on the main character Justice. Set at a boarding school wierd things begin to happen and the new girl goes missing… presumed kidnapped. Plenty of twists and turns to this outcome. A great little mystery/detective read for younger ones. Brilliantly written. I loved it. Devoured it. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Adapted to film · fantasy · Magic · mystery · suspense · Young adult

Fate: The Winx Saga – Ava Corrigan ★★★★★

Blurb; At the Alfea International School, students come from all over the Otherworld to train. To learn magic. To discover how to control their powers. Inside the school’s castle, five students-complete strangers-are assigned as roommates:

Aisha is an athlete and a classic overachiever whose control over water is the envy of her fellow students.

Terra is an awkward do-gooder whose power over the natural world can overwhelm rivals unexpectedly.

Musa is an introvert who keeps to herself so her mind isn’t overwhelmed by the emotions of those around her.

Stella is a princess – yes, a real princess – whose command over light inspires but also intimidates.

And then there’s Bloom, the outsider, the girl from the human world whose power over fire almost destroyed her family.

These five teenagers want what every teenager wants… to figure out who they are. To make friends. To fit in at their new school. But when an ancient, long-vanquished evil suddenly resurfaces outside the castle walls, these five teenagers be forced to put their powers to the test. And they’ll discover a secret so powerful, it will challenge everything they know about the Otherworld… and themselves.

My Review; Me and my partner started watching this on Netflix so ofcourse I had to get the book. Devoured it. It is word for word the same as Netflix but you get a few extras in the book not included in Netflix. Bonus. This is like Harry Potter but next gen. Lots of magic. Fire. Water. Mind. Earth. I fell in love with both the book and Netflix series and I already cannot wait for book 2 and series 2. Woo hoo.

Bloom is the main character but she is surrounded by great friends aka her suit mates. Each different. But all a team. Kept me guessing throughout. Not a fan of the burned ones aka scary creatures. But I loved it all. Gets dark towards the end which I’m hoping will be explained in more detail in series 2. Adored it. Brilliant. The story is told through each of the characters. I actually really liked Terra’s character too (earth girl).

A well deserved five stars. Highly recommend. This has gone into my top reads of the year.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US