Ghost story · mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Deity – Matt Wesolowski ★★★★★

Blurb; Online investigative journalist Scott King investigates the death of a pop megastar, the subject of multiple accusations of sexual abuse and murder before his untimely demise in a fire … another episode of the startlingly original, award-winning Six Stories series.

When pop megastar Zach Crystal dies in a fire at his remote mansion, his mysterious demise rips open the bitter divide between those who adored his music and his endless charity work, and those who viewed him as a despicable predator, who manipulated and abused young and vulnerable girls.

Online journalist Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the accusations of sexual abuse and murder that were levelled at Crystal before he died. But as Scott begins to ask questions and rakes over old graves, some startling inconsistencies emerge: Was the fire at Crystal’s remote home really an accident? Whose remains – still unidentified – were found in the ashes? Why was he never officially charged?

Dark, chillingly topical and deeply thought-provoking, Deity is both an explosive thriller and a startling look at how heroes can fall from grace and why we turn a blind eye to even the most heinous of crimes…

My Review; I absolutely love this series and author. From book one till now it is an amazing series I will always shout about and throw all the stars at. They seem to just get better and better for me.

I just love the whole lay out of each book in this series. A podcast style. Interview style. Makes easy reading. Split into six episodes. Six differing views. It always leaves the reader open to their own interpretation of what happened or what they think. Its cleverly written and absolute perfection. It is easily devourable (is that a word?) And will be over before you think. So… This time I paced myself! I did 2 episodes each day just to make the book last that little bit longer for me. But now… A long wait till the next one. 😦

This book focuses on the god of the music industry Zach Crystal. I must admit I’m still very undecided on my views over it all! Hmm. A very dark, deadly, twisted and part horror story I would say. But I loved it all! Very descriptive and I loved the tree house hide out setting and the woods too adds a bit of darkness and suspense amongst the stories and accusations.

Whose side are you on? Who do you believe? What is the truth here? An outstanding series. Another well deserved five stars. Highly recommend the whole series. My first book in my top twenty reads of 2021! Well deserved.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · Detective · mystery · suspense

*BLOG TOUR* Shadow Falls – Wendy Dranfield ★★★★★

Blurb; You thought your little girl was safe at summer camp. You were wrong.

She drags her eyes open, realizing she’s starting to fade. Did she imagine the voices, or were they real? She tries calling out—“Daddy?”—using all her remaining strength. But she’s too late and her little voice just isn’t loud enough…

When Detective Madison Harper arrives at a remote summer camp in Shadow Falls, northern California, her heart breaks for Jenny, the sweet little girl last seen splashing in the lake with her friends before she vanished. Peering into the silent cabins filled with rows of neatly made beds, Madison knows this idyllic place is hiding a terrible secret.

The girl’s parents are distraught, and the local police have no leads—they desperately need Madison’s help. She’ll do whatever it takes to crack this case, because it’s the only way back to the son she lost to the care system years ago when she was framed for a crime she didn’t commit.

But with the camp staff keeping tight-lipped and her new partner on the edge of a breakdown, Madison can’t find any truth to her instinct that there is more to Jenny’s perfect parents than meets the eye. Until she discovers a disturbing family portrait Jenny drew at the local library. Was this angelic girl more troubled than anybody knew? Was she in danger from those she trusted most?

One thing is certain, if Madison doesn’t find the answers soon, the lives of more innocent children will be at risk…

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.

My Review; This was my first read of 2020 and what a banger to start the year with. It’s absolutely amazing! This is the first book in a brand new series and I already cannot wait for book two. The series is Detective Madison Harper published by Bookouture. The cover is beautiful & perfect for this story.

What makes this different from all the other crime series out there? The fact that both the main characters have a hidden, dark past themselves (all will be revealed). However, they aint letting that stop them from finding out what happened to the missing girl. They’re both very determined characters who get there result towards the end.

It is a fast paced read. It is bound to keep you on your toes and edge of your seat second guessing yourself constantly. It messed with my head with all the twists, turns and unexpected evidence. Its a rollercoaster of a read. I absolutely loved it. If you’ve read it you’ll know what I’m about to say.. There’s one part in this book that actually made me scream NOOOOO out loud! Haha.

Highly recommend its a busy book, page turner. Will always hold the readers attention and the pages turning. I didnt want to put it down. It was addictive. I think this series could be huge for this author. Very impressed. Brilliantly written and a great plot. You can’t trust anyone in this story. A well deserved five stars from me. Loved it!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller · Young adult

The Cousins – Karen. M. McManus ★★★★

Blurb; Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each another, and they’ve never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were born. So when they each receive a letter inviting them to work at her island resort for the summer, they’re surprised… and curious.

Their parents are all clear on one point—not going is not an option. This could be the opportunity to get back into Grandmother’s good graces. But when the cousins arrive on the island, it’s immediately clear that she has different plans for them. And the longer they stay, the more they realize how mysterious—and dark—their family’s past is.

The entire Story family has secrets. Whatever pulled them apart years ago isn’t over—and this summer, the cousins will learn everything.

My Review; Ever since I read this authors first book One Of Us Is Lying I have followed all her books barr 1 so far and know I am in for a treat. I have loved them all and this did not disappoint either. It is a cleverly written young adult story with some evil, manipulative and dangerous characters.

I was hooked. The story focuses on three cousins Milly, Jonah and Aubrey and how their family have many hidden secrets spanning years back whilst also including there own secrets now. Took me a while to understand it all and figure it out alongside the other three characters above but we got there. AND BOY I DID NOT EXPECT THAT OUTCOME! Wow.

Karen sure knows how to get her readers gripped! It’s a real page turner and I loved it. Loved the island it was set on and the main three cousins working together. A well deserved four stars. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US