crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · thriller

Private Moscow – James Patterson & Adam Hamdy ★★★★

Blurb; Karl Parker, a former Marine and noted African-American telecoms magnate, is killed during an attempted kidnapping that goes badly wrong. His wife, Victoria, hires Jack Morgan, an old comrade and friend, to get to the truth.

In Moscow, Yana Petrov, an unassuming office worker, is brutally murdered in what looks like a gangland execution. Dinara Orlov, the head of Private Moscow, is made an offer she can’t refuse and agrees to investigate Petrov’s death.

Battling against the odds and compelled to face difficult truths, Jack and Dinara uncover old secrets and a geopolitical conspiracy that will permanently change the balance of global power.

My Review; Huge fan of James Patterson as you should all know by know and this did not disappoint! Another brilliant mystery, crime thriller. Fast paced. Devoured it. This is book 15 in the private series but it read fine as a standalone for myself. It is a long story with short chpaters but worth every page.

Investigators find themselves in many tricky situations during this story and even face death several times. This is a mind blowing outcome. Unexpected. Cleverly written. Very impressed. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

*Promo* The New Home – Chris Merritt.

Blurb; You never know what’s happening behind closed doors…

Freya loves her new home on a quiet suburban street. And her beautiful neighbour Emily is everything she’s ever wanted in a best friend. Finally, she has somebody to share her secrets with over a glass of wine. But as Freya watches her new friend setting the table for dinner one evening, she sees something shocking that makes her think that Emily’s life might not be as perfect as it seems. Days later, Emily and her daughter vanish…

When you meet Emily’s husband, you will think you know what he’s hiding.

You will ask yourself whether Emily and Freya really did meet by chance.

You will think you know what happened to Emily and her little girl the night they went missing.

But when you discover the truth, it will shake you to your core and you will lie awake at night wondering if you can ever really trust the people in the house next door…

Fans of Claire McGowan, Shalini Boland and Lisa Jewell will love the gripping tension and unexpected twists of The New Home. Once you start reading, you’ll be hooked!

Chris Merritt is a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.

All his novels are set in London, where he lives. He began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. He specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked his interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now, he spends most of his time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When he’s not writing, he loves climbing and playing basketball.

Social media;Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chrismerrittauthorTwitter: https://twitter.com/drcjmerrittWebsite: https://www.cjmerritt.co.uk/Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cjmerritt81/

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

suspense · thriller · Young adult

*BLOG TOUR* Lies Like Wildfire – Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. ★★★★

Blurb; The monsters have known each other their whole lives. This is their final summer before college – time to hang out, fall in love and dream about the future.

Until they accidentally start a forest fire which destroys their hometown and leaves death in its wake.

Desperate for the truth to remain hidden, the group make a pact of silence.

But the twisted secret begins to spin out of control and when one of the friends disappears they all become suspects.

We know how it starts but where does it end?

Secrets and lies are everywhere in this compulsive page-turner, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying.

My Review; I absolutely loved this. A young adult (YA) thriller full of suspense. A real page turner. Fast paced. Will they be found out? Arrested? Feel the guilt?

The story focuses on a group of youngsters known as the monsters who accidently start a huge wildfire, as soon as it started they knew they messed up big time and their lives would change forever. With many losing their homes, businesses and pets alongside several deaths this is one huge mistake.

However what made this book for me was the main character Hannah. Her dad is the head of this investigation and she feels awful lying to him and being so close to him. It’s a race to the end to see the outcome for all of the group. Personally I would be livid for them causing so much destruction but they’re only young and they knew they made a huge mistake. Gripping. Thrilling. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US