chick-lit · contemporary · romance · Young adult

The Library of Lost Things – Laura Taylor Namey ★★★★

Blurb; From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But when a new property manager becomes more active in the upkeep of their apartment complex, the only home Darcy has ever known outside of her books suddenly hangs in the balance.

While Darcy is struggling to survive beneath the weight of her mother’s compulsive shopping, Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works…and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can’t seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide inside her carefully constructed ink-and-paper bomb shelter.

Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she’ll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth—even if it’s messy.

My Review; This was one my lovely partner bought me for Christmas and just from the title and cover I knew I would love it and I wasn’t wrong. What an amazing final read to finish 2020 on. A beautiful read. One about finding your inner self, your true self.

I can relate to Darcy in many ways. Loses herself into books? Check. Hoards books? Check. Total bookworm? Check. She even works in a book shop. But behind her front door at home is the biggest secret she is keeping from everyone… One that rules her life.

Cue hot Asher entering the scene… Phoaww. Loved him. He is the perfect gentleman in many ways and he reads! I don’t want to give anything away but the ending is perfection. Everything turns out okay and the secret is out of the bag and love is in the air. Darcy finds her own love instead of love in books. Beautiful read. Loved it all.

I loved how at the start of each chapter there’s a book quote or relevant quote. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · War · Young adult

Sophia, Princess Among Beasts – James Patterson & Emily Raymond ★★★★★

Blurb; A princess who has lost her mother and father finds herself in a terrifying world that urgently needs a queen.

Sophia is smart, beautiful, and accomplished, a beloved princess devoted to the people and to reading books. The kingdom is hers, until she is plunged into a nightmarish realm populated by the awful beasts she read about as a child.

The beasts are real. And so is the great army marching on her castle. The people look to Sophia for protection. They will all perish unless she can unlock an ancient secret as profound as life and death itself.

Sophia, Princess Among Beasts is a fabulous adventure, and a stunning mystery. Here again is proof of why James Patterson is the world’s most trusted storyteller.

My Review; Another one from my library pile and one of my favourite authors. This was absolutely amazing. I really fell in love with this story. It set my imagination on fire and I was sucked into this fantasy world. The cover is also beautiful and eye catching so bonus points there.

The level of description within this story is amazing especially for all the mythical beasts and people. I loved Sophia’s character. She’s brave, strong, determined and not afraid. She’s a powerful character. I loved the whole adventure with her. I would describe it as a YA, fantasy and adventure. It’s brilliant.

I would highly recommend to you all. A well deserved five stars from me. I felt sad that it ended! This is going straight into my top twenty reads of the year, it’s going to be a hard one to forget! Amazing.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

mystery · suspense · Young adult

Follow Me Back – Nicci Cloke. ★★★★

Blurb; A thrilling read, for fans of Gone Girl and We Were Liars.

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.
Apparently, she’d met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren’t anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn’t know it yet, but with Lizzie’s disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.

My Review; This is one from my library pile. A YA, mystery. A girl goes missing but what really happened to her? There is a huge jaw dropping moment in this book that noone could see coming. A very cleverly written story. A page turner that knows how to capture the readers attention.

It’s a fast paced, easy read. The layout of the book contains a text message style in parts and it really is a perfect YA story with a happy ending. For me this was a cover pick and intriguing. It highlights the dangers of social media and talking to strangers which we all need to be aware of especially youngsters. Plenty of information left hidden from the investigation. Plenty of lies, secrets and deciet are about to become to light. Can they find her before it’s too late? Gripping. Thrilling. Tense.

Would highly recommend! A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK