mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Keep Her Close – Erik Therme ★★★★★

Book Description:

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter?
Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.
A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

Author Bio: Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

My Review; Oh my goodness. What a belter of a story. If that prologue doesn’t draw the reader in I don’t know what will. This has to be one of the best prologues I must have read.

This story is a get set, go book. It’s a chase against time to find Ally. Both parent are concerned of her whereabouts and with no way of contacting her they have to discover whats really going on for themselves.

Dad is the typical dad, protective over his little girl. He goes into detective mode. Figuring out whose lying, whose telling the truth and who is helping. With a dark past himself he will stop at nothing until he finds his daughter. I understood where Ally was coming from and why she wanted to do what she did, but sometimes its better to just leave the past in the past.

A fast paced thriller, mystery and suspense filled story. I actually devoured this in an evening and stayed up late especially to finish it. Brilliant. I loved every minute of it. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend! Plenty of twists and unexpected turns for the reader to endure in this one. A real page turner. Will Ally be found?

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

fantasy · Young adult

The Wicked Deep – Shea Ernshaw ★★★★★

Blurb; Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.

My Review; Oh My Gosh! I absolutely loved and enjoyed every second of this story. It is an easy to read, fast paced story which you won’t want to put down. A real page turner. I adored Penny and Bo’s characters they were so cute together.

The setting is perfect, a cute little town in the middle of nowhere. But will the curse of the three sisters ever end? The ending was sooo sad and broke me! The Wicked Deep is a brilliantly written story I don’t think I will ever forget and the cover is just beautiful.

A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend. I cannot wait for Winterwood to come out later this year now. The perfect read for young adult and low fantasy readers.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Brotherhood – Jo Fenton ★★★★

Blurb; The Brotherhood – safe haven or prison?

After her parents’ sudden death, a grieving Melissa falls back on her faith and into the welcoming arms of a religious sect. Captivated by their leader, Dominic, she leaves her old life behind and moves to the countryside to join them.

But life in The Brotherhood is not as safe as it first appeared. When engineer Mark joins The Brotherhood, Melissa finds herself conflicted between her growing feelings for him and her crush on Dominic. With their leader’s initial encouragement, Melissa and Mark grow close.

But as her haven becomes a prison, Melissa’s newfound happiness is destroyed by Dominic’s jealousy. How can she escape and save the ones she loves?

My Review; Ooh this was a good read! Dark, unexpected and twisted. I really enjoyed reading this one. This is book one and book two is The Refuge. I cannot explain how awful it must have been at times to be Mel and Mark. Breaks my heart. Turns my stomach to go through what they have. However, there is a good ending which I kind of don’t believe as I need to see what happens in book two now…

Dominic is one dark, twisted and sick character. Never hated a character so much in my life. Horrible man. This really was a page turner of a read that will stick in your head. Brilliantly written. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US