mystery · suspense · thriller · Young adult

Sadie – Courtney Summers ★★★★★

Blurb; A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A Serial―like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. And an ending you won’t be able to stop talking about.

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

My Review; This was such a great read! It was an easy read for me and could easily be devoured in one sitting. The story is told in a podcast/interview style with chapters from Sadie inbetween making it an easy and fast paced read.

The love between Sadie and Mattie is amazing. Sisters, but more. Sadie is more the mothering type and eldest. She is ripped apart after Mattie is found dead and she’s out for revenge. Can’t say I blame her.

But warning major CLIFFHANGER AHEAD! Ouch. I honestly loved it. It turned out to be a heartbreaking, eye opening read in the end and I was beside and supporting Sadie the whole way through. A must read from me. Highly recommend. A well deserved five stars from me. I won’t be forgetting this anytime soon.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Keep Her Close – Erik Therme ★★★★★

Book Description:

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter?
Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.
A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

Author Bio: Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

My Review; Oh my goodness. What a belter of a story. If that prologue doesn’t draw the reader in I don’t know what will. This has to be one of the best prologues I must have read.

This story is a get set, go book. It’s a chase against time to find Ally. Both parent are concerned of her whereabouts and with no way of contacting her they have to discover whats really going on for themselves.

Dad is the typical dad, protective over his little girl. He goes into detective mode. Figuring out whose lying, whose telling the truth and who is helping. With a dark past himself he will stop at nothing until he finds his daughter. I understood where Ally was coming from and why she wanted to do what she did, but sometimes its better to just leave the past in the past.

A fast paced thriller, mystery and suspense filled story. I actually devoured this in an evening and stayed up late especially to finish it. Brilliant. I loved every minute of it. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend! Plenty of twists and unexpected turns for the reader to endure in this one. A real page turner. Will Ally be found?

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

fantasy · Young adult

The Wicked Deep – Shea Ernshaw ★★★★★

Blurb; Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow…

Where, two centuries ago, three sisters were sentenced to death for witchery. Stones were tied to their ankles and they were drowned in the deep waters surrounding the town.

Now, for a brief time each summer, the sisters return, stealing the bodies of three weak-hearted girls so that they may seek their revenge, luring boys into the harbor and pulling them under.

Like many locals, seventeen-year-old Penny Talbot has accepted the fate of the town. But this year, on the eve of the sisters’ return, a boy named Bo Carter arrives; unaware of the danger he has just stumbled into.

Mistrust and lies spread quickly through the salty, rain-soaked streets. The townspeople turn against one another. Penny and Bo suspect each other of hiding secrets. And death comes swiftly to those who cannot resist the call of the sisters.

But only Penny sees what others cannot. And she will be forced to choose: save Bo, or save herself.

My Review; Oh My Gosh! I absolutely loved and enjoyed every second of this story. It is an easy to read, fast paced story which you won’t want to put down. A real page turner. I adored Penny and Bo’s characters they were so cute together.

The setting is perfect, a cute little town in the middle of nowhere. But will the curse of the three sisters ever end? The ending was sooo sad and broke me! The Wicked Deep is a brilliantly written story I don’t think I will ever forget and the cover is just beautiful.

A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend. I cannot wait for Winterwood to come out later this year now. The perfect read for young adult and low fantasy readers.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US