chick-lit · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Silver Blooms Flower Shop – K.T. Dady ★★★★

Blurb; Welcome to Pepper Bay, where you’ll find love drama, and a happily ever after.

Snuggle down with this cosy, feel-good, comfort read that whisks you away to a beautiful bay on the Isle of Wight – Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Phillipa Ashley, and Holly Martin.

The Pepper Bay books are standalone stories that intertwine with recurring characters. Best enjoyed when read in order,

Silver Blooms Flower Shop: Lexi and Bryce have never been friends. She views him as her childhood bully. So, she finds a way to stick it to the fancy-schmancy businessman by using his name as her pen name for the erotic romance books that she writes. That way, when potential clients try to check him out online, all they will see is fishnet stockings, sexy CEOs, and steamy sneak previews. But, when Not-Nice-Bryce comes back home to confront her, their past comes flooding back, and maybe it wasn’t as bad as she remembers.

My Review; Meet Lexi and Bryce. This is book seven in the Pepper Bay series but read perfectly fine as a standalone for me. I’d class this as an enemies to lovers. The story flicks between the present and their past together at school to bring us this beautiful story. I loved Lexi, a woman not to be messed with. She’s funny. A shortish, quick, and uplifting read, which made me smile. I enjoyed this one. A little spice included. Highly recommend. A series I need to go back and enjoy from the beginning. A well-deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Perfect Girl – Kelly Golden ★★★★

Blurb; He always said she was just a friend… What if she’d kill for more?

Sophie is perfect. She has blonde hair and blue eyes and when she smiles her wide, open, caring smile, her teeth sparkle. Everybody loves her. So would I, except she’s my husband Mike’s best friend, and sometimes they seem a little too close for comfort.

This summer, Sophie is renting the grand house next door, bringing over fancy wine, offering to babysit our beautiful three-year-old daughter. It’s nice, actually. She’s smart and funny. Maybe the way she is with Mike – squeezing his arm, tilting her head when she laughs at his jokes – is just how she is with everybody.

But then she says something that sends a shiver down my spine – does she know something about me she shouldn’t?

And when her new husband arrives, looking slightly too familiar, I realise my time is running out. My baby girl and I are in terrible danger.

Sophie really is perfect. She has me perfectly trapped. And as my world begins to crumble, I start to wonder: does Sophie just want to steal my husband, or has she planned the perfect murder?

My Review; This book messed with my head. It was a slow burn at first, getting familiar with the characters, the settings, relationships and backgrounds, etc. But boy, once this got going, it was so good. The author had me believing no one at one point. She has written such a clever, crafty, twisted, and messed up character in this story that she gets away with everything. I really hated her. Manipulative. The ending… WOW. How can you just end it like that? Come on. Seriously. I need answers. I need more. Please. I really enjoyed this read and fell in love with the little girl who I just wanted to take away from everything happening and run away with her. A well-deserved four stars. Highly recommend. Twisted. Gripping. Thrilling. Deadly.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Historical fiction

*BLOG TOUR* You Shall Leave Your Land – Renato Cisnero ★★★★

Blurb; Renato Cisneros’s great-great-grandmother Nicolasa bore seven children by her priest, raising them alone in nineteenth century Peru. More than a century later, Renato struggles to wring information about his origins out of recalcitrant relatives, whose foibles match the adventures and dalliances of their ancestors. As buried secrets are brought into the light and is bound up with key moments in the development of the Republic of Peru since it won independence.

My Review; This is a serious do not judge a book by its cover book! I devoured just over 100 pages of this in one sitting. It’s a story of finding out about a families past. So it does flick from the past to the future, but it is a beautiful family discovery of past secrets, relationships, and deciet in the past when such things were not accepted. A large family. A happy outcome. A brilliant search into history. Discovering where she came from. We get to learn all her distant relatives’ stories back in the day. Beautifully translated. A well-deserved four stars. I enjoy this one which actually shocked me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US