chick-lit · romance · Short Stories

*BLOG TOUR* Secret Wishes & Summer Kisses on Lilypond Lane – Emily Harvale ★★★★

Blurb; Everyone’s got a secret wish in Little Pondale this summer.

Mia’s been exceptionally lucky since moving to Lily Pond Lane. But even on her honeymoon with the man of her dreams, she still has one remaining wish.

Ella wishes Gill would propose. But since Mia’s wedding something’s changed in their relationship. Now he’s spending time with newcomer, Tabbie Talbaine, Ella wishes Tabbie will leave as quickly as she arrived.

Tabbie wishes she hadn’t driven her car into a pond. But it could be the best thing that’s ever happened to her. When she discovers Hollywood heartthrob, Justin Lake’s staying in the village, getting an interview for her popular blog isn’t her only wish.

Bree was told she couldn’t have a baby. Now she’s expecting twins and is simply wishing it all goes well.

And as for Hettie … she wishes she could get her hands on an old map of the village. Because there’s something hidden in Little Pondale that Hettie Turner really wants to find.

This is the final book in the Lily Pond Lane series.

My Review; NOOOOO! This is really the end people. We had a false alarm last time but not this time… Least I can go back to the beginning as I came into this series late oops. Each of these have read well as standalones…

We have a newbie in the village… Tabbie. Her little opening scene did make me laugh out loud and she seems to be causing quite a stir in this little village. We get to see a lot more from other characters in this story as Mia’s on her honeymoon which sounds divine, but life still goes on without the pair in Lilypond Lane.

Another brilliant story which I yet again devoured in just over an hour. I am sad to be saying goodbye to this little town and these characters. Cute, cosey and perfect. A well deserved four stars. Highly recommend… It’s been a pleasure reading these stories.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · Sci-Fi

*BLOG TOUR* Wanderers – Chuck Wendig ★★★★

Blurb; A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

My Review; Where do I start? Now usually books over 400 pages scare me. So this being 800 pages long terrified me and not to mention hurt my hands to hold. However, I split it up over three days and some late nights (270 pages roughly a day) and it was absolutely brilliant. Not something that I would usually read or pick up but glad that I did.

I haven’t read anything similar to this before so I found it very interesting and intriguing which kept me turning those pages. Don’t expect to race through this book cause you can’t, it’s too long! I would love to see this turned into a film or tv series. I did find I had to concentrate more while reading this book to understand some of the science and abbreviations within.

However, I’m not complaining. It was a pleasure to read this book, something different, thought proving and eye opening. This is the first book I have read by this author and I am very impressed. It also has a beautiful cover. You can tell the author has put a lot of time and research into producing this book for us readers.

I don’t have much to say about the actual plot of the story as there is a lot going on throughout so it would be impossible to highlight it all. However, Shana deserves a mention for sticking by her sister, loved her character. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. If you have the time please give this one a read.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · mystery · suspense

*BLOG TOUR* The Dead Wife – Sue Fortin ★★★★

Blurb; SINCLAIR WIFE DEAD! HUSBAND CLEARED!

Police have ruled out suspicious circumstances in the investigation into the death of Elizabeth Sinclair, wife of charismatic entrepreneur Harry Sinclair, found drowned in the lake of the family’s holiday park.

It’s been two years since the Sinclair case closed but when reporter Steph Durham receives a tipoff that could give her the scoop of the year, she’s drawn deeper and deeper into the secretive Sinclair family.

Elizabeth’s death wasn’t a tragic accident. And the truth will come at a deadly price…

My Review; I have read and enjoyed a couple of Sue’s books before this one, so I knew I was in for a treat and it was a must read for me really. I was not disappointed Sue has wrote another belter of a book here which I easily devoured in two days.

It is a well written story which is told in the present through Steph who has come accross the sinclair family and Elizabeths death and she aims to find out the truth about Elizabeths death. It is also told through Elizabeth in the past before her death, so we get to see what was really going on and both sides to the story. Interesting. Intriguing. It kept me turning the pages and judging all the characters.

Gripping. A page turner of a page which keep your guessing as to what really happened. Secrets and lies will be uncovered to find the truth two years later… I enjoyed reading this one, I zoomed through, fast paced! Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link UK