fantasy

*BLOG TOUR* The Spider – Leo Carew ★★★★★

Blurb; A battle has been won, but the war still wages on . . .

Roper, the Black Lord of the northern people, may have vanquished the Suthern army at the Battle of Harstathur. But the greatest threat to his people lies in the hands of more shadowy forces.

In the south, the disgraced Bellamus bides his time. Learning that the young Lord Roper is planning to invade the southern lands, Bellamus conspires with his Queen to unleash a weapon so deadly it could wipe out Roper’s people altogether.

And at a time when Roper needs his friends more than ever, treachery from within puts the lives of those he loves in mortal danger . . .

My Review; I am honoured to be kicking off this blog tour for this brilliant book! Now I broke the unspoken rule of reading series’s in order as I read this one first, but it read fine as a standalone and because I enjoyed this one so much I cannot wait to go back and read The Wolf. Apologises over…

The Spider is book two in the Under the Northern Sky series. It is a thick book at 471 pages but easy to get through for myself as I loved it. This book got me excited! It was all I could think about until I finished it. It has some strong, determined characters within! A real page turner. Brilliantly written. This series could be huge and has so much potential, I’d love to see it turned into a film or tv series.

I won’t give anything away but there is A LOT that goes on in the story… Some good. Some bad. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend. A must read for fantasy fans. I’m off to read The Wolf now…

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · Magic

Viper – Bex Hogan ★★★★★

Blurb; He will make me a killer. Or he will have me killed. That is my destiny.

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He’s the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne’s father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves – and perhaps even her life?

My Review; Oh wow. Where do I even begin? Viper is a brilliant start to a new upcoming trilogy Isles of Storm and Sorrow and I already cannot wait for the next one (Venom). This was all I could think about until it was finished. It is a real page turner you will not want to put down and it has a gorgeous cover too, eye catching.

I loved the map in the front of the book, I think that’s a new obsession of mine. Sets the scene in my mind! I loved how the story was set on a ship (the viper) in the seas, but also a lot of the story takes place on the different isles. Absolutely brilliant how each isle is so different and how the east and the west differ, I found that brilliant and amazing to even think of, thanks Bex.

I adored Marriannes character! She is amazing, strong and brave. What she went through, how she fought. I look up to her. Her father however, I absolutely despised. Thinking he was the best and everyone should do as he says… No thanks. Bronn he is such a sweetheart! I really hoped he and Marrianne would get together, I still have hope for them yet. They seem so perfect for each other, childhood sweethearts! Finger crossed.

It all finishes with a happish ending with a few hard hitting loses of some brilliant characters, but I really cannot wait to see where this trilogy takes us. A must read for all fantasy fans. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend. I buddy read this book with the beautiful Jacqueline from The Pufflehuffle Kitteh Reads so keep an eye out as she will also be reviewing Viper soon. You can find her blog here;

Jacquelines Blog

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Keep Her Close – Erik Therme ★★★★★

Book Description:

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter?
Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.
A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

Author Bio: Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

My Review; Oh my goodness. What a belter of a story. If that prologue doesn’t draw the reader in I don’t know what will. This has to be one of the best prologues I must have read.

This story is a get set, go book. It’s a chase against time to find Ally. Both parent are concerned of her whereabouts and with no way of contacting her they have to discover whats really going on for themselves.

Dad is the typical dad, protective over his little girl. He goes into detective mode. Figuring out whose lying, whose telling the truth and who is helping. With a dark past himself he will stop at nothing until he finds his daughter. I understood where Ally was coming from and why she wanted to do what she did, but sometimes its better to just leave the past in the past.

A fast paced thriller, mystery and suspense filled story. I actually devoured this in an evening and stayed up late especially to finish it. Brilliant. I loved every minute of it. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend! Plenty of twists and unexpected turns for the reader to endure in this one. A real page turner. Will Ally be found?

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK