crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · Young adult

Good Girl, Bad Blood – Holly Jackson ★★★★★

Blurb; Pip is not a detective anymore.

With the help of Ravi Singh, she released a true-crime podcast about the murder case they solved together last year. The podcast has gone viral, yet Pip insists her investigating days are behind her.

But she will have to break that promise when someone she knows goes missing. Jamie Reynolds has disappeared, on the very same night the town hosted a memorial for the sixth-year anniversary of the deaths of Andie Bell and Sal Singh.

The police won’t do anything about it. And if they won’t look for Jamie then Pip will, uncovering more of her town’s dark secrets along the way… and this time everyone is listening. But will she find him before it’s too late?

My Review; This is book two in the Good Girls Guide to Murder trilogy. Now these must be read in order as the start of this book follows straight on from book one so does contain alot of spoilers. I forgot how much I enjoyed book one and I loved this book just as much and cannot wait to see what happens in book three already. I devoured the majority of this book in one day. Gripping. Thrilling. Kept me guessing until the end and I never would have guessed it. Jaw dropping. Shocking. I loved it all! Huge twist. A well deserved five stars. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

fantasy · suspense · Young adult

Shadow Kiss – Richelle Mead ★★★★★

Blurb; WHAT IF FOLLOWING HER HEART MEANS ROSE COULD LOSE HER BEST FRIEND FOREVER?

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a Dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

Rose knows it is forbidden to love another guardian. Her best friend, Lissa – the last Dragomir princess – must always come first. Unfortunately, when it comes to gorgeous Dimitri Belikov, some rules are meant to be broken…

Then a strange darkness begins to grow in Rose’s mind, and ghostly shadows warn of a terrible evil drawing nearer to the Academy’s iron gates. The immortal undead are closing in, and they want vengeance for the lives Rose has stolen. In a heart-stopping battle to rival her worst nightmares, Rose will have to choose between life, love, and the two people who matter most… but will her choice mean that only one can survive?

My Review; This is book three in the Vampire Academy series and has to be my favourite so far. This book broke me. I didn’t cry but I was damn close. This book is a rollercoaster of emotions from beginning to the end. This story has so much going on and the ending just makes you want to dive straight into book four (Blood Promise). I am loving this series and the characters and cannot wait to see where book four takes us with all the characters. Highly recommend the whole series so far. All been five star reads.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

Christmas · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Christmas at the Borrow a Bookshop – Kiley Dunbar ★★★★★

Blurb; ‘Tis the season for finding love… and the perfect book

With just two weeks until Christmas, everything in Clove Lore should be perfect. But the latest holidaymaker to the Borrow a Bookshop is feeling far from festive…

Icelandic ex-bookseller Magnús Sturluson might be surrounded by love stories in the Bookshop, but he’s nursing a sadness that not even fiction can fix.

When Alexandra Robinson finds herself stranded in Clove Lore, she finds a safe place to hide from heartbreak. After all, all that’s waiting for her at home is a cheater boyfriend and the memories of her parents. As Alex finds herself embraced by the quirky village community, she finds her tough exterior thawing – and as she grows closer to Magnús, she finds an equally soft heart under his gruff shell.

It seems that Clove Lore is working its magic once again – until a great flood on Christmas Eve brings devastation in its wake. It’s up to Magnús and Alex to batten down the hatches and help bring the village back together again, while also introducing the locals to the Icelandic tradition of the jólabókaflóð – Yule book flood – where families and friends gather on Christmas Eve to exchange books and read together.

But can Magnús and Alex truly rescue the ruins of the village, and salvage their Christmas spirit? Or is there another complication lurking even closer than they thought?

A totally uplifting read that will lighten the winter gloom, for fans of Jenny Colgan and Trisha Ashley. Booklovers will adore this seasonal treat!

My Review; Yes. I know it’s September. But this is my first Christmas read of the year and it’s a good one. Worth it. I loved the previous book (The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday) so ofcourse I had to read this one and it didn’t disappoint. Another five star read. I’ve fallen in love with this little town. The characters and the bookshop ofcourse. The story is told over the Christmas period with two new fresh characters Magnus and Alex. Two Castaways. Brilliant story. Happy endings all round. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US