Bestsellers · chick-lit · crime · mystery · romance · Short Stories

A Fresh Start; Ten gripping stories from ten bestselling authors. ★★★★

Blurb; From wronged wives to nosy neighbours, from distant dads to new-found family, from secrets to lies, fresh starts to false endings – and everything in between…

A collection of brilliant short stories from the best writers around.

This collections contains original stories from Fanny Blake, Louise Candlish, Mike Gayle, Mari Hannah, Sophie Kinsella, Jojo Moyes, Adele Parks, Ian Rankin, Mahsuda Snaith and Keith Stuart.

My Review; So this is another quickread but with ten short stories inside all with the theme of a fresh start a range of genres include… Chick-lit, romance, crime, thriller. A brilliant mix and all around 10 pages long. Now I’m not going to review them all but I will pop the ten short stories below, you may know some of the authors already. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars. The ten stories included are;

Lock up & Leave by Louise Candlish.

The Estate by Mahsuda Snaith.

The Accidental Date by Keith Stuart.

Let No One In by Mari Hannah.

The Makeover by Jojo Moyes.

Sisters by Fanny Blake.

A Quiet Road by Adele Parks.

You & Me by Mike Gayle.

Decluttering by Sophie Kinsella.

Easy Street by Ian Rankin.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Bestsellers · drama · suspense · thriller

Baby Doll – Holly Overton ✶✶✶✶✶

baby doll.jpg

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.
This is what happens next…
…to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter…and to her captor.

I voluntarily reviewed an advance readers copy of this story thanks to Netgalley. I must start by saying this is the thriller of 2016 you NEED to read. Its brilliant. Fans of Gone Girl and Girl On A Train this is perfect for you. I was hooked from the first page and I finished the book in two days. It would not leave my mind, I never wanted to put it down. An amazing five star read from me. I’ve not been this excited over a story for a while. I cannot recommend or praise this book enough. Perfect characters, perfect family and the perfect ending. Beautifully written, easy to read and contains short chapters from each of the individual characters. I really hated Rick (the bad guy) so much which makes a book great. WOW. If you haven’t already you need to buy this story. I’m not spoiling it for you, but I promise you will love it and not regret it. Amazing.

Baby Doll is perfect for readers who love an outstanding thriller, suspense and drama packed story. Enjoy, I loved it.

 

Bestsellers · contemporary · mystery · Young adult

The Curious Incident of the dog in the Night Time – Mark Haddon ✶✶✶✶✶

curious incident of the dog

This is a murder mystery novel that is a one of a kind you will not forget easily. The narrator (and detective) is Christopher Boone, Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s syndrome. Christopher is very intelligent and loves maths, lists, patterns and the truth, but he hates the colours yellow and brown and does not like being touched. He has never gone further than the end of his road, but when he find the neighbours dog has been murdered he sets off on his own new terrifying journey.

I decided to read this book as I had heard a lot of great reviews about it and had to find out for myself and I was not disappointed! This is definitely a one of a kind story, it is easy to read (I finished it in a day) and the chapters are short and number differently (you will find out if you choose to read it). There is pictures too! All I can say is it is like a children’s book but just for adults, it is brilliant and I really enjoyed it which is why I awarded five stars. This is the perfect novel for readers who enjoy young adult, mystery, contemporary and bestsellers genre’s. I would highly recommend this to you all. Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.