Bestsellers · drama · suspense · thriller

Baby Doll – Holly Overton ✶✶✶✶✶

baby doll.jpg

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.
This is what happens next…
…to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter…and to her captor.

I voluntarily reviewed an advance readers copy of this story thanks to Netgalley. I must start by saying this is the thriller of 2016 you NEED to read. Its brilliant. Fans of Gone Girl and Girl On A Train this is perfect for you. I was hooked from the first page and I finished the book in two days. It would not leave my mind, I never wanted to put it down. An amazing five star read from me. I’ve not been this excited over a story for a while. I cannot recommend or praise this book enough. Perfect characters, perfect family and the perfect ending. Beautifully written, easy to read and contains short chapters from each of the individual characters. I really hated Rick (the bad guy) so much which makes a book great. WOW. If you haven’t already you need to buy this story. I’m not spoiling it for you, but I promise you will love it and not regret it. Amazing.

Baby Doll is perfect for readers who love an outstanding thriller, suspense and drama packed story. Enjoy, I loved it.

 

Bestsellers · contemporary · mystery · Young adult

The Curious Incident of the dog in the Night Time – Mark Haddon ✶✶✶✶✶

curious incident of the dog

This is a murder mystery novel that is a one of a kind you will not forget easily. The narrator (and detective) is Christopher Boone, Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s syndrome. Christopher is very intelligent and loves maths, lists, patterns and the truth, but he hates the colours yellow and brown and does not like being touched. He has never gone further than the end of his road, but when he find the neighbours dog has been murdered he sets off on his own new terrifying journey.

I decided to read this book as I had heard a lot of great reviews about it and had to find out for myself and I was not disappointed! This is definitely a one of a kind story, it is easy to read (I finished it in a day) and the chapters are short and number differently (you will find out if you choose to read it). There is pictures too! All I can say is it is like a children’s book but just for adults, it is brilliant and I really enjoyed it which is why I awarded five stars. This is the perfect novel for readers who enjoy young adult, mystery, contemporary and bestsellers genre’s. I would highly recommend this to you all. Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

Adapted to film · Adventure · Bestsellers · Children's · Comedy · contemporary · crime

Gangster Granny – David Walliams ✶✶✶✶✶

gangster granny

Ben is bored beyond relief when he is made to stay at his Grandma’s house as she is the most boring grandma ever! But there are two things Ben does not know about his grandma…
#1 She was once an international Jewel thief.
#2 All her life she has been plotting to steal the crown jewels.
Sounds like she is far from boring to me! But now she needs Ben’s help.

This is the perfect story for readers who enjoy adventure, humor, crime, contemporary and children’s genre’s. Yes! I know this is a children’s book but if you want to have a laugh this is the perfect book to read! This is the first book I have read by David Walliams and it will not be the last! It is extremely easy to read and you will probably finish it in a day if not a few hours. This book has also been lucky enough to be adapted into a film and the film is just as funny and good! I awarded this five stars as I really did laugh throughout, I do not care that it is a children’s book. We are all still children at heart right? I cannot wait to find more of his stories. Enjoy.