fantasy · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Nightborn – Jessica Thorne ★★★★

Blurb; Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now.

Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn. But their sunlit happiness is not destined to last. The golden magic which brought them together in purest passion is threatened by strange and ancient forces. Innocent people are becoming nightborn – cruel, deadly, unrecognisable to their loved ones – and these two young lovers are the only ones with power enough to stop it.

In times of peace, striking a deal with their closest enemy would be unthinkable, but now their only hope is to ally with the neighbouring Valenti royal family: manipulative, cunning, and always with an eye on the Larelwynn throne. The partnership comes at a devastating price… if Grace wants to defeat the nightborn, she must watch Bastien marry a Valenti princess.

Grace knows she must make this heart-wrenching sacrifice for the good of the whole kingdom – but she also fears the magic in her veins, usually so warm and bright, is turning cold as deepest midnight. A beguiling darkness whispers to her from within. Is Grace herself becoming nightborn?

Time is running out. With Bastien promised to another, and a stony distance growing between them, will Grace find the source of the nightborn curse before every last soul is consumed by the darkness?

My Review; Nightborn is book two in The Hollow King series/trilogy. Best read in order. Oh wow. Readers are in for a rollercoaster of a ride with this one. Up down up. Plenty of magic. Plenty of evil and there’s some good too. Some romance. Some enemies. This books got it all. Very fast paced. There’s always something to keep you reading on. Brilliantly written. Was great to be back with these familiar characters. Some chapters were a little long for my personal liking but nevertheless it didn’t put me off. Beautiful cover too.

What a cliffhanger that was… I’m praying & begging to see what happens next. I’m unsure if this is a series or trilogy but either way I’m waiting & don’t want it to end. Brilliant. Perfect for fantasy lovers. I loved it. Enjoyed it. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. I need more Grace & Bastian in my life.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · Detective · mystery · suspense

Blood Lines – Angela Marsons ★★★★

Blurb; How do you catch a killer who leaves no trace?

A victim killed with a single, precise stab to the heart appears at first glance to be a robbery gone wrong. A caring, upstanding social worker lost to a senseless act of violence. But for Detective Kim Stone, something doesn’t add up.

When a local drug addict is found murdered with an identical wound, Kim knows instinctively that she is dealing with the same killer. But with nothing to link the two victims except the cold, calculated nature of their death, this could be her most difficult case yet.

Desperate to catch the twisted individual, Kim’s focus on the case is threatened when she receives a chilling letter from Dr Alex Thorne, the sociopath who Kim put behind bars. And this time, Alex is determined to hit where it hurts most, bringing Kim face-to-face with the woman responsible for the death of Kim’s little brother – her own mother.

As the body count increases, Kim and her team unravel a web of dark secrets, bringing them closer to the killer. But one of their own could be in mortal danger. Only this time, Kim might not be strong enough to save them…

My Review; I’m so excited to be getting back into this series. The whole series is brilliant and I’ve finished book five. Yet again a brilliant, tense, edgy, suspenee filled and page turner of a read. Loved it. I highly recommend you read this series in the correct order as this book links very closely to the previous book.

Kim is back and I bloody love her. One of my favourite characters ever. However, more cases are here and she needs to figure it out. But this time an old convict behind bars is back to torment, test and push Kim. Will she succeed? Or is Kim still hot on her heels and won’t let her win, always one step ahead? We see more of the relationship between Kim and her mother in this story.

Brilliantly written. Enjoyed it all. I cannot wait to see what lies ahead for Kim and her team in book six. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · Magic

*BLOG TOUR* Mageborn – Jessica Thorne ★★★★

Blurb; A dark and addictive fantasy read for fans of Graceling and Sarah J. Maas. The life of an orphan soldier becomes entwined with that of the mysterious heir to the throne, whose very presence draws out the secret magic living inside her: a magic that breaks every law she is duty-bound to uphold…

The room is small and dark. Row upon row of jars line the shelves, each one sealed with blood-red wax. The seal’s mark is a twisted circle of briar with gleaming, gold-tipped thorns. And in each jar a flicker of forbidden magic dances… beautiful, but deadly.

Sold to the Crown in the aftermath of the Last Great War, Grace Marchant has never known her parents. Now, she trains as an elite soldier tracking down mageborn – those born with an ancient and long-outlawed magic – and destroying them if they don’t surrender their power to the Crown.

The mageborn who submit are collared, then handed over to the King’s cousin and heir: the elusive Bastien Larelwynn, Lord of Thorns, locked away in his shadowy workshop deep inside the castle. What becomes of them is hard to say – the Lord of Thorns keeps his secrets close.

Grace has always fought the voice inside her that questions whether the law is truly just – but when her closest friend is next on Bastien’s list, Grace’s loyalties are tested to the limit. Confronting Bastien – searching his strangely compelling obsidian-black eyes for answers – Grace is shocked to feel herself begin to change, to show the first signs of the wild magic she so fears.

Only the Lord of Thorns has the power to save her and the rest of the mageborn – if he doesn’t destroy them all first…

My Review; This is the first book of a brand new upcoming series The Hollow King which has me very excited! I loved it. I also think the cover is stunning. A brilliant start to this series which already has me asking and wondering…

WHAT HAPPENS NOW? WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

I loved Graces character. She’s strong, determined and the boss. She is an amazing character after all she had to face and her relationship with Bastien (the lord of thorns) oooh. Loved them together. A couple that shouldn’t be… But are perfect together. True love. The ending left me speechless. Revenge. Lies. Truths. I really need to know what happens next… Major cliffhanger alert. Cue bookhangover.

Brilliantly written and gripping. Highly recommend. I lost myself into their world instead of mine which I enjoyed. A well deserved four stars from me. An upcoming series that could be huge!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US