mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Street Party – Claire Seeber ★★★★

Blurb; The party was supposed to be the highlight of the summer. If only I’d known that night would destroy our lives…

All the neighbours were laughing, drinking out of plastic glasses and getting along. I almost felt happy. Almost forgot about the terrible argument earlier and the sinister messages I’d been receiving from a strange address all week, threatening to expose the lies behind my perfect life.

As we finished with the red and gold fireworks and welcomed everyone back to our house, I believed that everything would be okay.

But I didn’t know who I was inviting in.

I never could have imagined what would happen here, in our home, after I’d gone up to bed.

Everyone saw something different.

It’s my daughter’s word against the story the boy from down the road is telling. But how can I find out what really happened that night without everyone finding out the truth about me?

My Review; For me this is more drama than thriller. The story focuses on three ladies Ruby, Melissa & Nella and is told through each of them. It took me a while to get into this story and get use to each of the characters but I soon devoured this one over two days. The street party itself comes into the book much later on there is a lot before then. The opening had me intrigued to find out what was going on so had me hooked. Not a neighbourhood I’d like to live in.

It is well written. Shortish chapters. Easy reading. I enjoyed it. Its highlights that even if we all witness the same event, we all see it differently. So whose to say who is right and who is wrong here? I also love the cover on this one, eye catching. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · Detective · suspense

*BLOG TOUR* Cry For Help – Wendy Dranfield ★★★★

Blurb; Shivering in the early morning chill, the caretaker flips the switch on the Ferris wheel and stumbles back in shock. The teenage girl’s body is slumped in a halo of pretty colored lights, long red hair spilling over her tear-stained cheeks, her eyes fixed forever on her dangling feet.

When teenager Nikki Jackson’s body is found at an amusement park, just hours after Fourth of July fireworks lit up the night sky, the Lost Creek police rule her death as suicide––a devastating final act from a girl who had lost all hope. But the absence of the knife used to make the wounds on her delicate wrists makes Detective Madison Harper think otherwise. And the partial fingerprint found on the girl’s face proves her right. Someone else was with Nikki in her final moments…

Back home in Colorado for the first time in seven years to investigate the murder of a woman with ties to the son she lost to the care system, the pressure is on for Madison to work both cases at once. Fearing the team has missed a vital clue, Madison searches the crime scene alone and finds the last thing she ever expected: a note proving the victims knew each other, and that the cases are linked. Is this a coincidence, proof a dangerous murderer is on the loose, or a trap set to lead Madison off the trail?

It’s only when Madison finally finds the knife used to harm Nikki, tucked in an almost impossible to find hiding place, that she knows she is closing in on a twisted killer. But the last person she expects to see dragged into the department in handcuffs is her own missing son…

My Review; I have been so looking forward to reading this book since I finished book one. Again this is a brilliant read, I really enjoyed it. Brilliantly written. Fast paced. Edgy. Tension. Suspense. A real page turner.

In book two we see Madison returning to her hometown in order to find out who set her up for her sentence and prison time, but also to find her son. But it will never be as easy as that right? With two suspicious deaths ongoing in her hometown is now the right time to return or will she end up in more trouble than before?

It’s a gripping read! I needed all the answers myself and I finally got them. So happy for Madison at the end of this book I hope life starts to look up for her. Ofcourse her co worker is alongside her with every step and I hope we get to know more about him in the next book! Loved it all. Cannot wait for book three already. Hurry up!! Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. A perfect series.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · Detective · mystery · suspense

*BLOG TOUR* Shadow Falls – Wendy Dranfield ★★★★★

Blurb; You thought your little girl was safe at summer camp. You were wrong.

She drags her eyes open, realizing she’s starting to fade. Did she imagine the voices, or were they real? She tries calling out—“Daddy?”—using all her remaining strength. But she’s too late and her little voice just isn’t loud enough…

When Detective Madison Harper arrives at a remote summer camp in Shadow Falls, northern California, her heart breaks for Jenny, the sweet little girl last seen splashing in the lake with her friends before she vanished. Peering into the silent cabins filled with rows of neatly made beds, Madison knows this idyllic place is hiding a terrible secret.

The girl’s parents are distraught, and the local police have no leads—they desperately need Madison’s help. She’ll do whatever it takes to crack this case, because it’s the only way back to the son she lost to the care system years ago when she was framed for a crime she didn’t commit.

But with the camp staff keeping tight-lipped and her new partner on the edge of a breakdown, Madison can’t find any truth to her instinct that there is more to Jenny’s perfect parents than meets the eye. Until she discovers a disturbing family portrait Jenny drew at the local library. Was this angelic girl more troubled than anybody knew? Was she in danger from those she trusted most?

One thing is certain, if Madison doesn’t find the answers soon, the lives of more innocent children will be at risk…

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.

My Review; This was my first read of 2020 and what a banger to start the year with. It’s absolutely amazing! This is the first book in a brand new series and I already cannot wait for book two. The series is Detective Madison Harper published by Bookouture. The cover is beautiful & perfect for this story.

What makes this different from all the other crime series out there? The fact that both the main characters have a hidden, dark past themselves (all will be revealed). However, they aint letting that stop them from finding out what happened to the missing girl. They’re both very determined characters who get there result towards the end.

It is a fast paced read. It is bound to keep you on your toes and edge of your seat second guessing yourself constantly. It messed with my head with all the twists, turns and unexpected evidence. Its a rollercoaster of a read. I absolutely loved it. If you’ve read it you’ll know what I’m about to say.. There’s one part in this book that actually made me scream NOOOOO out loud! Haha.

Highly recommend its a busy book, page turner. Will always hold the readers attention and the pages turning. I didnt want to put it down. It was addictive. I think this series could be huge for this author. Very impressed. Brilliantly written and a great plot. You can’t trust anyone in this story. A well deserved five stars from me. Loved it!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US