Adventure · Children's · mystery

The House of Secret Treasure – Kita Mitchell ★★★★

Blurb; George isn’t good at anything much. In fact, he’s pretty average. That doesn’t mean he doesn’t have BIG ambitions, they are just harder to achieve when your big sister, Jess, is brilliant at everything! Then George inherits a mansion from dear old Mrs Smallbone. Except Hogweed Hall isn’t your average mansion. It’s BRILLIANT, and full of fascinating tenants like Boris the dog, an unusual pastry chef who lives in the basement, a mysterious scientist who works in the attic, and lots and lots of chickens! But Mrs Smallbone’s sisters aren’t at all happy about the situation, and invite themselves to stay. They’re after something, and don’t intend to leave without it. Can George stop them before it’s too late?

My Review; Another children’s one but another brilliant read full of adventure and mischief. Again beautifully illustrated throughout. There is a huge plot twist to this story and I loved it all even at 27 years old. I would highly recommend this story to all children.

It’s got adventure, jewels, treasure, maps, evil sisters, science, history, dodos, a dog and a pirate ship! Plenty to keep those pages turning. Devoured it. Main character George and his sister Jess come through it all together. Really enjoyed reading this one. A beautiful cover too which sums up the whole book perfectly. Throw in a bit of mystery too which will all be revealed towards the end. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Adventure · Children's · Magic

Rainbow Grey – Laura Ellen Anderson ★★★★

Blurb; Ten-year-old Ray Grey lives in the magical Weatherlands, high in the sky! Ray is surrounded by Weatherlings with astounding weather power at their fingertips . . . but she doesn’t have ANY magic!

Then, after a trip to Earth, Ray’s life changes forever. She is transformed from Ray Grey intro RAINBOW GREY! With the help of her best friends (and exploding cloud cat, Nim) now all Ray has to do is master her powers AND save the world from a mysterious, powerful enemy…

My Review; Yes I am 27. Yes I still read children’s books but this was amazing even for me. I loved it. Beautifully illustrated throughout. My imagination was on fire reading this. Meet Ray she is the main characters and begins the story with no weather powers/magic. Bring in her best friends Snowden and Droplett who do have powers and let the adventure begin.

This story has is all. Adventure. Magic. Good vs Evil. A huge battle to save the world. A brilliant read! Something different. Highly recommend for all children and young adult readers. There’s a whole new world to be explored inside this book. A well deserved four stars. Brilliant.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Comedy

The Summer I Robbed A Bank – David O’Doherty ★★★★

Blurb; Rex’s parents have split up, he’s about to make the daunting move to secondary school, and to make matters worse he has to spend his summer holiday on a remote and rainy Irish island – with lots of unruly sheep for company.

The only upside: he’ll be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle Derm.

Then Rex discovers Uncle Derm is about to execute his most hair-brained plan yet – to rob the island’s travelling bank!

Like the local legend of medieval Pirate Queen Grace O’Malley, Uncle Derm plans to redistribute the money to local needy causes on the island.

And he needs Rex’s help . . .

A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

My Review; So I am 26… Yes I still read children’s books. I devoured this in a day an easy read. Boy did this book make me laugh out loud! Super funny. Smiled throughout. I just loved it all it really showed just how clever Rex and Kitty are as children and that the adults did need their help. After all it’s not easy to rob a bank.

The whole story is about coming together during a tough time with his uncle who is still suffering himself but he wants one final adventure, which is to rob a bank. Set on a remote island makes it even more fun. Will have you giggling throughout. A feel good, comedy children’s read. Short chapters with a few illustrations throughout. I absolutely loved it. Got my imagination going. Now children… Don’t be going robbing banks! These lot got away with it, but only just.

Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Brilliant!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US