Christmas · Short Stories

*BLOG TOUR* More Than Mistletoe ★★★★

Blurb; Cosy up for Christmas with 12 very different tales of love with all the festive feels!

More than Mistletoe, the debut anthology from The Christmas Collective, is an eclectic and inclusive mix of stories, with swoon-worthy characters, second chances and happy endings.

Between the pages, you will discover classic romance, festive thrillers, LGBTQ+ love stories, hilarious romcoms and historical settings, these stories really do span the whole spectrum of festive fiction.

Featuring twelve up and coming new authors, this refreshing, diverse and romantic read, is a must-have for Christmas 2021 that will leave you reaching for your Christmas jumper, gingerbread cookies and a mug of hot chocolate!

Lumikinos by Lucy Alexander
The Ghost of Christmas Past by Michelle Harris
Christmas for Two by Marianne Calver
August in December by Joe Burkett
Under the Christmas Tree by Cici Maxwell
Killing Christmas Eve by Jake Godfrey
Christmas and Cocktails by Jenny Bromham
Christmas at The Little Blu Bookshop by Sarah Shard
Not Today, Santa by Martha May Little
Sealed with a Christmas Kiss by Bláithín O’Reilly Murphy
Love Forever by Donna Gowland
The Last Christmas by S.L.Robinson

My Review; Well this did its job. Got me right in the Christmas spirit. Each story is very different, but my favourite had to be The Ghost of Christmas Past it’s the one I don’t think I’ll be able to forget! But each and every story was short and brilliant. A lot of romances. Perfect for readers who prefer short stories and don’t have time for long ones. All easy reads you can lose yourself in. All magical and Christmassy. Loved them all! A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend! Bring on Christmas.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Christmas · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Christmas at the Borrow a Bookshop – Kiley Dunbar ★★★★★

Blurb; ‘Tis the season for finding love… and the perfect book

With just two weeks until Christmas, everything in Clove Lore should be perfect. But the latest holidaymaker to the Borrow a Bookshop is feeling far from festive…

Icelandic ex-bookseller Magnús Sturluson might be surrounded by love stories in the Bookshop, but he’s nursing a sadness that not even fiction can fix.

When Alexandra Robinson finds herself stranded in Clove Lore, she finds a safe place to hide from heartbreak. After all, all that’s waiting for her at home is a cheater boyfriend and the memories of her parents. As Alex finds herself embraced by the quirky village community, she finds her tough exterior thawing – and as she grows closer to Magnús, she finds an equally soft heart under his gruff shell.

It seems that Clove Lore is working its magic once again – until a great flood on Christmas Eve brings devastation in its wake. It’s up to Magnús and Alex to batten down the hatches and help bring the village back together again, while also introducing the locals to the Icelandic tradition of the jólabókaflóð – Yule book flood – where families and friends gather on Christmas Eve to exchange books and read together.

But can Magnús and Alex truly rescue the ruins of the village, and salvage their Christmas spirit? Or is there another complication lurking even closer than they thought?

A totally uplifting read that will lighten the winter gloom, for fans of Jenny Colgan and Trisha Ashley. Booklovers will adore this seasonal treat!

My Review; Yes. I know it’s September. But this is my first Christmas read of the year and it’s a good one. Worth it. I loved the previous book (The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday) so ofcourse I had to read this one and it didn’t disappoint. Another five star read. I’ve fallen in love with this little town. The characters and the bookshop ofcourse. The story is told over the Christmas period with two new fresh characters Magnus and Alex. Two Castaways. Brilliant story. Happy endings all round. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Children's · Christmas · fantasy

The Christmas Pig – J.K. Rowling ★★★★

Blurb; A heartwarming, page-turning adventure about one child’s love for his most treasured thing, and how far he will go to find it. A tale for the whole family to fall in love with, from one of the world’s greatest storytellers.

One boy and his toy are about to change everything…

Jack loves his childhood toy, Dur Pig. DP has always been there for him, through good and bad. Until one Christmas Eve something terrible happens — DP is lost. But Christmas Eve is a night for miracles and lost causes, a night when all things can come to life… even toys. And Jack’s newest toy — the Christmas Pig (DP’s replacement) — has a daring plan: Together they’ll embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known…

My Review; This is one I got for Christmas. I will never be to old for J.K Rowling or children’s books. I absolutely loved this. Very similar to toy story with objects down in the land of lost coming to life. Set my imagination on fire. Beautiful illustrations throughout. Short chapters. Easy reading. A story about a boy trying to find his lost pig. Heartbreaking in parts. But he’s a strong determined character and learns a few lessons along the way. Highly recommend! A well deserved four stars.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK