contemporary · Young adult

Pizza Girl – Jean Kyoung Frazier ★★★★

Blurb; Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl in suburban Los Angeles, our charmingly dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost and in complete denial about it all. She’s grieving the death of her father (who she has more in common with than she’d like to admit), avoiding her supportive mom and loving boyfriend, and flagrantly ignoring her future.

Her world is further upended when she becomes obsessed with Jenny, a stay-at-home mother new to the neighborhood, who comes to depend on weekly deliveries of pickled covered pizzas for her son’s happiness. As one woman looks toward motherhood and the other towards middle age, the relationship between the two begins to blur in strange, complicated, and ultimately heartbreaking ways.

My Review; I don’t know how I came accross this one but I’m glad I did. It’s a shortish read under 200 pages about a pizza delivery girl age 18 and pregnant. She becomes obsessed with one of her customers which escalates towards the end. Pretty wierd but made the book interesting and kept the pages turning to find out what would happen.

Perfect for young adult readers a bit of chick-lit but not much. I did enjoy it a bit of a slow start at the beginning but it gets better. The ending for me was a bit sudden leaving me with some questions would love a sequel. This is the authors debut novel and very well written, I love the cover too. A well deserved four stars from me. I would recommend.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

contemporary · romance

Here is the Beehive – Sarah Crossan ★★★★

Blurb; A brilliantly original debut about a love affair cut short, and how lonely it is to live inside a secret — for fans of Sally Rooney, Sheila Heti, and Ottessa Moshfegh.

Ana Kelly can deal with death. As an estate lawyer, an unfortunate part of her day-to-day is phone calls from the next of kin informing her that one of her clients has died. But nothing could have prepared Ana for the call from Rebecca Taylor, explaining in a strangely calm tone that her husband Connor was killed in an accident.

Ana had been having an affair with Connor for three years, keeping their love secret in hotel rooms, weekends away, and swiftly deleted text messages. Though consuming, they hide their love well, and nobody knows of their relationship except Mark, Connor’s best friend.

Alone and undone, Ana seeks friendship with the person who she once thought of as her adversary and opposite, but who is now the only one who shares her pain — Rebecca. As Ana becomes closer to her lover’s widow, she is forced to reconcile painful truths about the affair, and the fickleness of love and desire.

Funny, frank, and strange, Sarah Crossan’s moving novel is wholly original and deeply resonant.

My Review; I have read a lot of books by this author so this was a must read for me. I love her unique writing style of poetry format which tells the story making her books easy reads but enjoyable ones too. This is a story about an affair, death, betrayal and love.

Beautifully written and a gorgeous cover. I loved it! Devoured it in a day. Have to feel for the main character and her loss as she can’t acknowledge as noone knew about their affair or love, she’s angry, upset and mourning herself while having to work with his wife after his death. She’s his solicitor. Would highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

contemporary · Young adult

Big Girl Small Town – Michelle Gallen ★★★★

Blurb; Routine makes Majella’s world small but change is about to make it a whole lot bigger.

*Stuff Majella knows*
-God doesn’t punish men with baldness for wearing ladies’ knickers
-Banana-flavoured condoms taste the same as nutrition shakes
-Not everyone gets a volley of gunshots over their grave as they are being lowered into the ground

*Stuff Majella doesn’t know*
-That she is autistic
-Why her ma drinks
-Where her da is

Other people find Majella odd. She keeps herself to herself, she doesn’t like gossip and she isn’t interested in knowing her neighbours’ business. But suddenly everyone in the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up wants to know all about hers.

Since her da disappeared during the Troubles, Majella has tried to live a quiet life with her alcoholic mother. She works in the local chip shop (Monday-Saturday, Sunday off), wears the same clothes every day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, nuked in the microwave) and binge watches Dallas (the best show ever aired on TV) from the safety of her single bed. She has no friends and no boyfriend and Majella thinks things are better that way.

But Majella’s safe and predictable existence is shattered when her grandmother dies and as much as she wants things to go back to normal, Majella comes to realise that maybe there is more to life. And it might just be that from tragedy comes Majella’s one chance at escape.

My Review; I don’t even know how I came upon this probably Instagram but I reserved this at my library and I’m so glad I did. It’s a new release I’d class as young adult/contemporary. It’s about Majella who is 27 and what we would class as plus size. She’s never left her home town, still lives with her mother at home and works in the local chippy.

The book reminds me of derry girls as stated on the cover, parts had me laughing out loud. There is no covering up here includes sex scenes and adult language. But a brilliant read. Majella does the same things daily in this story but it isn’t boring. Majority of the book is set in the chippy she works at with it being a small town she gets everyone through her door and many stories along the way.

Her grandma has recently died so thats a huge part to her story too. The story itself is told over a week and time stamped throughout and I loved the whole layout of it. Like a diary format but a story. I love Majellas character but she seems stuck in her life at the moment. I really enjoyed it! A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK