fantasy · Ghost story · Young adult

Tunnel Of Bones – Victoria Schwab ★★★★★

Blurb; Trouble is haunting Cassidy Blake . . . even more than usual.

She (plus her ghost best friend, Jacob, of course) are in Paris, where Cass’s parents are filming their TV show about the world’s most haunted cities. Sure, it’s fun eating croissants and seeing the Eiffel Tower, but there’s true ghostly danger lurking beneath Paris, in the creepy underground Catacombs.

When Cass accidentally awakens a frighteningly strong spirit, she must rely on her still-growing skills as a ghosthunter — and turn to friends both old and new to help her unravel a mystery. But time is running out, and the spirit is only growing stronger.

And if Cass fails, the force she’s unleashed could haunt the city forever.

My Review; This is book two and I would recommend you read City of Ghosts first as it refers to the previous book and sets it up and explains perfectly for you to understand book two. After reading City of Ghosts (book one), I couldn’t wait to dive into this one. Yet again it was amazing! Another easy read I enjoyed.

However, in this book it gets more dark, more riskier and more deadly. Cassidy is forced to face a poltergeist (a strong spirit), but in order to help him pass to the other side she must find out about the boy, his story and his death. This puts herself and her family at the risk of accidents, death and scary situations. Will she succeed?

With Jacob by her side and never far from her parents filming their show in paris Cassidy has to find the chance to end it all for good. Tense. Gripping. Page turner of a read. Perfect for young adult readers who love a ghost story. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

fantasy · Ghost story · paranormal · suspense · Young adult

City Of Ghosts – Victoria Schwab ★★★★★

Blurb; Cassidy Blake’s parents are The Inspecters, a (somewhat inept) ghost-hunting team. But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts. In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one.

When The Inspecters head to ultra-haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass—and Jacob—come along. In Scotland, Cass is surrounded by ghosts, not all of them friendly. Then she meets Lara, a girl who can also see the dead. But Lara tells Cassidy that as an In-betweener, their job is to send ghosts permanently beyond the Veil. Cass isn’t sure about her new mission, but she does know the sinister Red Raven haunting the city doesn’t belong in her world. Cassidy’s powers will draw her into an epic fight that stretches through the worlds of the living and the dead, in order to save herself.

My Review; THIS WAS BRILLIANT! I bought it ages ago as the cover is gorgeous and caught my eye. I’m surprised at how much I loved it and enjoyed it. I can honestly say I’ve not read anything similar to this before. It’s was an easy read for me and I devoured it in a day but I just loved it. It’s a unique story.

I love Cassidy’s character the fact she has a ghost as her bestfriend and can see ghosts (the inbetween). She thinks she’s the only one who can do what she does but then she meets Lara and she is just what she needs. She understands Cassidy and is the same as her.

Things turn tense when Cassidy gets her life stolen off her by an evil ghost then it’s a race against time to get her life back and she has consequences to face afterwards. Lara teaches her about what she can see and do… Her purpose.

I’m currently reading book two (tunnel of bones) and it’s just as good. Highly recommend. A light read, but a brilliant one. Five stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

fantasy · Ghost story · thriller

The Twisted Tree – Rachel Burge ★★★★

Blurb; Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.

My Review; This is one from my library pile and I got it because of the gorgeous cover, it did not disappoint me. As stated above part ghost story, part thriller and part fantasy. It made a brilliant read.

It was an easy read for me which I devoured in two sittings at only 230 pages long it didn’t take long. Parts of this story had me scared and jumping out of my skin! It’s a twisted story but one with a happy ending. I loved Martha’s character she’s brave, strong and clever.

I was hooked. Something different. Brilliantly written and one thats hard to forget. Fast paced. I really enjoyed reading this one and highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me. Creepy read.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US