fantasy · Graphic Novels

Apple Black Vol 1 – Odunze Ocucuo ★★★★

Blurb; APPLE BLACK, the HIT MANGA WEBCOMIC featured in digital anthology, Saturday AM, is now a graphic novel!

The young sorcerer, Sano, attempts to fulfill his destiny as savior of the world as he struggles to solve the mystery behind his father’s death and research on the incredible source of power that is Apple Black.

Volume One, Freedom Days:
9 Chapters, 262 Pages, Extra Artworks, Illustrations and MORE…

My Review; I don’t read many graphic novels/manga so this was very different for me. I love the lay out of these stories. Easy to read. Brilliant illustrations. Took me a while to get into this story but then I was hooked and finished this within a day. It ends on quite a cliffhanger so would love to get my hands on volume 2. Really enjoyed it in the end. Plenty to keep the reader hooked. Proving his worth. Fights. A powerful student with a powerful arm many want for themselves. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Ghost story · Graphic Novels · Young adult

The Sad Ghost Club 2 – Lize Meddings ★★★★

Blurb: Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don’t belong anywhere? Like you’re almost… invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club. (You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

When two strangers meet at a party and realise they both feel different from everyone else there, they start the The Sad Ghost Club – a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don’t belong.

But when a third ghost wants to join the club, things get a bit more complicated. Can the two ghosts overcome their insecurities and uncertainties in their new friendship, and find a way to welcome new members to the club?

Stunningly illustrated, this is Volume 2 in a new graphic novel series, for fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.

My Review; This is a graphic novel meaning an easy read, beautifully illustrated throughout, not many words as such. But after loving book one I had to see what happened in book two. It’s such a simple story, but a beautiful one. I felt I could really relate to this story this morning. I just wanted to be left alone, shut the world off and read. Still do. But it’s a reminder you’re never alone. Things do get better. Someone is always there whether you know it or not.

It’s bringing together a community of people who feel alone. Left out. Forgotten and I love it. Would highly recommend to everyone. A well deserved four stars. We love the ghost club.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

Graphic Novels · romance · Young adult

Heartstopper: Volume 4 – Alice Oseman ★★★★★

Blurb; Charlie didn’t think Nick could ever like him back, but now they’re officially boyfriends. Charlie’s beginning to feel ready to say those three little words: I love you.

Nick’s been feeling the same, but he’s got a lot on his mind – not least coming out to his dad, and the fact that Charlie might have an eating disorder.

As summer turns to autumn and a new school year begins, Charlie and Nick are about to learn a lot about what love means.

Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the fourth volume of Heartstopper, which has now been optioned for television by See-Saw Films.

My Review; With thanks to Melanie’s Reads for getting me my copy. I will keep this one short & sweet. I have been with Charlie & Nick since the beginning and I just love them both so much! How good was this volume? I got it. I loved it. I finished it in an hour. Typical. Now the wait for volume five. Sigh. This does contain mental health issues and eating disorders. But what a beautiful installment into the lives of Charlie & Nick. I don’t think I will ever got bored of these two. Gorgeous graphic novel. Perfection! Beautiful. Adored. Highly recommend. A well deserved five stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US