Graphic Novels · romance · Young adult

Heartstopper: Volume 3 – Alice Oseman ★★★★

Blurb; In this volume we’ll see the Heartstopper gang go on a school trip to Paris! Not only are Nick and Charlie navigating a new city, but also telling more people about their relationship AND learning more about the challenges each other are facing in private…

Meanwhile Tao and Elle will face their feelings for each other, Tara and Darcy share more about their relationship origin story, and the teachers supervising the trip seem… rather close…?

My Review; Yay. Volume 3. This one is different, again it focuses on Charlie and Nicks relationship but with a twist. This time they go on a school trip together in France. It’s still about coming out and love. But this has a much happier ending. The teachers aboard the trip gave me a shock too, didn’t expect that. Many of their friends already know about their relationship and are suppportive but there is still the bullies to deal with and accept it. This volume also deal with an eating disorder.

They really are brilliant, easy reads. With beautiful illustrations throughout. I think the whole meaning behind it is about love can conquer all. You matter. Don’t worry about others. It had me smiling all the way through I love them both (Nick and Charlie). A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. Now I’ve got a long wait till next year for volume four, unless I read it online. Sigh.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Graphic Novels · romance

Heartstopper: Volume 2 – Alice Oseman ★★★★

Blurb; Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come. Volume two collects all of chapter three from the ongoing web series.

My Review; I dived straight into this one after finishing volume one due to the cliffhanger ending of the first. We begin this one with apologies and new starts. This book focuses more on the growing friendship/relationship between Charlie and Nick. These both made me smile reading them full of love, hope and friendships. Nick is still figuring out what is going on with himself and is scared of the outcome and ‘coming out’. A brilliant ending to this one and I cannot wait to see where volume three takes us with these two. I love both their characters.

Beautiful illustrations. Beautiful story. Another easy, light read. Devoured this on in half an hour too. Perfect. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. Now I’m off to read volume three.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

Graphic Novels · romance

Heartstopper: Volume 1 – Alice Oseman ★★★★

Blurb; Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something more…?

Charlie Spring is in Year 10 at Truham Grammar School for Boys. The past year hasn’t been too great, but at least he’s not being bullied anymore. Nick Nelson is in Year 11 and on the school rugby team. He’s heard a little about Charlie – the kid who was outed last year and bullied for a few months – but he’s never had the opportunity to talk to him.
They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and sometimes good things are waiting just around the corner…

My Review; I decided to try these as I’ve seen them all over instagram. Now when I got them they were not what I expected. These are graphic novels and extremely easy to read, took me around half an hour. Brilliant. I actually enjoyed them. Easy, light reading. Something different. Beautiful illustrations throughout.

The story itself focuses on Charlie and Nick both at a boys school. Charlie is out being gay and has a huge crush on Nick however, Charlie is 100% Nick is straight and doesn’t have a chance. Further along we get Nick starts giving mixed signals to Charlie which confuses him further. The ending broke me… I literally dived into volume two to see what would happen. Major cliffhanger.

A story about finding out about yourself. Your sexuality. Love and friendship. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend if you need some light reading. I’ve fallen in love with both Charlie and Nick.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US