Historical fiction · mystery · suspense

*BLOG TOUR* The Heretic’s Mark – S.W. Perry ★★★★

Blurb; The Elizabethan world is in flux. Radical new ideas are challenging the old. But the quest for knowledge can lead down dangerous paths…

London, 1594. The Queen’s physician has been executed for treason, and conspiracy theories flood the streets. When Nicholas Shelby, unorthodox physician and unwilling associate of spymaster Robert Cecil, is accused of being part of the plot, he and his new wife Bianca must flee for their lives.

With agents of the Crown on their tail, they make for Padua, following the ancient pilgrimage route, the Via Francigena. But the pursuing English aren’t the only threat Nicholas and Bianca face. Hella, a strange and fervently religious young woman, has joined them on their journey. When the trio finally reach relative safety, they become embroiled in a radical and dangerous scheme to shatter the old world’s limits of knowledge. But Hella’s dire predictions of an impending apocalypse, and the brutal murder of a friend of Bianca’s forces them to wonder: who is this troublingly pious woman? And what does she want?

My Review; I have been with this series from the start and I just love everything about it. It’s historical, it’s mystery, it’s adventure and it’s death. Just wow. I hope there’s more to come. This is book four in the series and it is best to read in order as this one carries straight on from what happened in book three.

These books just take you back in time they’re very descriptive so easy to imagine. It was brilliant to be back with Bianca, Nicholas, Ned and Rose. The Jackdaw is being rebuilt! But Nicholas is on the run to save his life, ofcourse Bianca is with him. They both embark on a long journey to protect themselves from harm but soon find themselves with a stranger alongside them for most of the way. Cue Hella Maas… A stranger character, unpredictable and for me she was scary. You never knew what she would do or say next. She kept me on edge. I was not a fan of her character at all. However, at times I did feel quite sorry for her.

So S.W. Perry has done it again another beautiful cover, another brilliant book! I cannot wait to see what happens next. This is a series I could read on and on and on about and never get bored. Something different genre wise for me. A real page turner, addictive read. Loved it all. Highly recommend this whole series and the newest installment. A well deserved four stars from me. Now I’ve got to wait for the next book… Sigh.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

Historical fiction

*BLOG TOUR* Minnie’s Orphan – Lindsey Hutchinson ★★★★

Blurb; Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson transport you back in time to Marshall’s Children’s Home, for this heart-warming and unforgettable tale from the Black Country.

The Fitch children are finally safe, after they and their friends were rescued from the grim orphanage Reed House by Minnie and Billy Marshall. Their children’s home Marshall’s is full of love and laughter, and a world away from their terrible ordeal of being sold to Una Reed for five shillings.

There are many more children who still need a home, especially in a world where the workhouse is the last option for desperate families, and so Minnie makes it her mission to build Marshall’s into a refuge for all the waifs and strays.

But kind hearts can be taken advantage of, and before long, Marshall’s in under attack. Can Minnie and Billy keep their family together and keep all the children safe, or will they be torn apart again?

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-warming, unputdownable and unforgettable tale of triumph against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews.

My Review; We all need a genre change at times don’t we? This was perfect for me inbetween all the thrillers lately. A lovely, heart-warming and uplifting read. Something different but well worth the read. I enjoyed it. I recommend it. It’s brilliantly written. I fell in love with Minnie. A true historical fiction read.

A page turner. A different world. A different time among this present chaos. A break for the mind. I love the cover too. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Historical fiction

* BLOG TOUR* The Girl From The Hermitage – Molly Gartland ★★★★

Blurb; It is December 1941, and eight-year-old Galina and her friend Katya are caught in the siege of Leningrad, eating soup made of wallpaper, with the occasional luxury of a dead rat. Galina’s artist father Mikhail has been kept away from the front to help save the treasures of the Hermitage. Its cellars could now provide a safe haven, provided Mikhail can navigate the perils of a portrait commission from one of Stalin’s colonels. Nearly 40 years later, Galina herself is a teacher at the Leningrad Art Institute. What ought to be a celebratory weekend at her forest dacha turns sour when she makes an unwelcome discovery. The painting she embarks upon that day will hold a grim significance for the rest of her life, as the old Soviet Union makes way for the new Russia and Galina’s familiar world changes out of all recognition. Warm, wise and utterly enthralling, Molly Gartland’s debut novel guides us from the old communist world, with its obvious terrors and its more surprising comforts, into the glitz and bling of 21st-century St. Petersburg. Galina’s story is at once a compelling page-turner and an insightful meditation on ageing and nostalgia.

My Review; A few of you may know that I’ve been struggling with reading lately. But this book finally got me back into it. Hurray! Something different. Historical fiction. The story is split into three parts. The few first pages had me hooked and interested.

It starts off with life during WW2 then part two moves onto after the war and finally part three is set on the future. It’s a life story of sorts focusing on a specific few characters. Brilliantly written and the cover is simple yet eye catching. Molly has a brilliant writing style and description for each time period. You can tell alot of research, time and thought have been put into this story.

Some chapters are a little too long for my personal liking but that didn’t bother me much as I was really enjoying reading it after my long book slump. A well deservesld four stars from me. Highly recommend. If you fancy something a little different this may be for you. Thank you for giving me my reading mojo back!

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US