mystery · suspense · thriller

The House Share – Kate Helm ★★★★

Blurb; Seven housemates. Seven lies. Would you join . . . The House Share?

Immi thought she had found the perfect new home in central London: a shared warehouse with luxury accommodation, a rooftop terrace and daily yoga, all with a surprisingly affordable price tag. The Dye Factory is a ‘co-living’ community, designed to combat the loneliness of big city life.

But soon after she moves into her new haven, Immi realises that it’s not quite as idyllic as it appears. No one seems to know who is behind this multi-million pound urban experiment. And her housemates may be hiding a dangerous secret . . .

Then, as a series of pranks escalates into something much darker, Immi is left questioning whether, in this group of strangers, she can ever really be safe.

And when you’re sharing a house, you can’t always lock the danger out.

My Review; I picked this one up because it was a £2 bargain off amazon and I devoured it. Just my type of book a mixture of thriller and mystery. What is going on in this house share? It certainly isn’t the supporting, friendly and safe community they have made out they are.

Seven house mates all with their own secrets and hidden pasts. Things gets dark quickly in this story with a few deaths. It’s a trust noone, suspect everyone story. It’s a Tense, high alert and edge of your seat read. I will admit I didn’t figure it out at all. I kept changing my mind on who it was doing all these twisted, messed up things. Brilliant read. Huge twist. Messes with your mind a little.

Rollercoaster of a read for me it was here, there, up and down. I never made my mind up. Very clever. Gripping. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Wife Who Knew Too Much – Michele Campbell ★★★★

Blurb; Tabitha Girard had her heart broken years ago by Connor Ford. He was preppy and handsome. She was a pool girl at his country club. Their affair should have been a summer fling. But it meant everything to Tabitha.

Years later, Connor comes back into Tabitha’s life—older, richer, and desperately unhappy. He married for money, a wealthy, neurotic, controlling woman whom he never loved. He has always loved Tabitha.

When Connor’s wife Nina takes her own life, he’s free. He can finally be with Tabitha. Nina’s home, Windswept, can be theirs. It seems to be a perfect ending to a fairy tale romance that began so many years ago. But then, Tabitha finds a diary. “I’m writing this to raise an alarm in the event of my untimely death,” it begins. “If I die unexpectedly, it was foul play, and Connor was behind it. Connor—and her.”

Who is Connor Ford? Why did he marry Nina? Is Tabitha his true love, or a convenient affair? As the police investigate Nina’s death, is she a convenient suspect?

As Tabitha is drawn deeper into the dark glamour of a life she is ill-prepared for, it becomes clear to her that what a wife knows can kill her.

My Review; This was my second book of 2020 and another belter of a read. It’s dark, deadly and dangerous. What really happened to Nina? There is so much more to this story than just a who did it? It’s clever. Twisted. Dark. Well thought out. It even contains a shoot out scene! Phew. Kept me turning the pages. Hooked. Gripping. Thrilling.

I must admit though that I was on Tabithas side from the start she didn’t even know what she was about to get herself into poor woman. It’s a fast paced, action packed read where plenty of secrets and hidden motives will soon be out in the open. Its true what they say… Money does cause a lot of fights, deaths and secrets. This is all about money… A lot of money.

A happyish ending for Tabitha, she deserved it! Plenty of characters got what were coming to them. Brilliantly written. Another that messed with my head at how clever it all was and who did what to who etc. You can’t trust anyone. This is a story where history appears again and not in a good light. A brilliant read. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · Young adult

Follow Me Back – Nicci Cloke. ★★★★

Blurb; A thrilling read, for fans of Gone Girl and We Were Liars.

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.
Apparently, she’d met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren’t anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn’t know it yet, but with Lizzie’s disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.

My Review; This is one from my library pile. A YA, mystery. A girl goes missing but what really happened to her? There is a huge jaw dropping moment in this book that noone could see coming. A very cleverly written story. A page turner that knows how to capture the readers attention.

It’s a fast paced, easy read. The layout of the book contains a text message style in parts and it really is a perfect YA story with a happy ending. For me this was a cover pick and intriguing. It highlights the dangers of social media and talking to strangers which we all need to be aware of especially youngsters. Plenty of information left hidden from the investigation. Plenty of lies, secrets and deciet are about to become to light. Can they find her before it’s too late? Gripping. Thrilling. Tense.

Would highly recommend! A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK