mystery · suspense · Young adult

Follow Me Back – Nicci Cloke. ★★★★

Blurb; A thrilling read, for fans of Gone Girl and We Were Liars.

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.
Apparently, she’d met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren’t anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn’t know it yet, but with Lizzie’s disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.

My Review; This is one from my library pile. A YA, mystery. A girl goes missing but what really happened to her? There is a huge jaw dropping moment in this book that noone could see coming. A very cleverly written story. A page turner that knows how to capture the readers attention.

It’s a fast paced, easy read. The layout of the book contains a text message style in parts and it really is a perfect YA story with a happy ending. For me this was a cover pick and intriguing. It highlights the dangers of social media and talking to strangers which we all need to be aware of especially youngsters. Plenty of information left hidden from the investigation. Plenty of lies, secrets and deciet are about to become to light. Can they find her before it’s too late? Gripping. Thrilling. Tense.

Would highly recommend! A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

Adapted to film · mystery

Enola Holmes – Nancy Springer ★★★★

Blurb; Now a Netflix film starring Millie Bobby Brown and Henry Cavill with a screenplay by Jack Thorne (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child). Upon the disappearance of their mother, Enola Holmes, the child sister of Sherlock and Mycroft Holmes runs away to become a fugitive private detective herself.

When Enola Holmes, sister to the detective Sherlock Holmes, discovers her mother has disappeared, she quickly embarks on a journey to London in search of her. But nothing can prepare her for what awaits. Because when she arrives, she finds herself involved in the kidnapping of a young marquess, fleeing murderous villains, and trying to elude her shrewd older brothers–all while attempting to piece together clues to her mother’s strange disappearance. Amid all the mayhem, will Enola be able to decode the necessary clues and find her mother?

My Review; This is one of my bargain buys from Amazon at just £2. I had also seen it on Netflix but as an avid book lover I always have to read the book first before watching. That’s my rule which I think a lot of readers can relate to. I am also a huge fan with anything to do with sherlock Holmes. Anything. With my first child I was sat watching it while having contractions all night!

I knew this was right up my street! I didn’t know he had a younger sister. So meet Enola! Just as clever as Sherlock but miles younger. She’s off to find where her mother has gone but along the way she encounters danger and another run away. I loved it all. But I must say this could have been so much more. I felt they cut the ending very suddenly and gave all answers away just to finish it when it could have been so much longer and more for me.

At just 170 ish pages it’s a short read and I would have happily devoured another 170 pages of it too. But I loved it. I just wanted more, which is the sign of a good book I suppose. An easy read. An enjoyable read. Clever. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

The House Guest – Mark Edwards ★★★★★

Blurb; A perfect summer. A perfect stranger. A perfect nightmare.

When British twenty-somethings Ruth and Adam are offered the chance to spend the summer housesitting in New York, they can’t say no. Young, in love and on the cusp of professional success, they feel as if luck is finally on their side.

So the moment that Eden turns up on the doorstep, drenched from a summer storm, it seems only right to share a bit of that good fortune. Beautiful and charismatic, Eden claims to be a friend of the homeowners, who told her she could stay whenever she was in New York.

They know you’re not supposed to talk to strangers—let alone invite them into your home—but after all, Eden’s only a stranger until they get to know her.

As suspicions creep in that Eden may not be who she claims to be, they begin to wonder if they’ve made a terrible mistake…

My Review; Another amazing read from Mark an author who has never let me down with his brilliant books. The House Guest is intriguing, mysterious and a gripping read. It does get a bit dark with a few deaths throughout but a very cleverly written and planned out story. Ruth and Adam were house guests until a stranger (Eden) turns up… Who is she really? A friend of the family? A stranger? An enemy?

A page turner of a read which had me second guessing everyone and trying to find out what happened to Ruth myself. A bit of a revelation/jaw dropping moment at the end for me which made me go OH!!!!

Brilliantly written, thrilling, fast paced, suspense filled and a page turner of a read. The cover suits this story so well. Always a pleasure to read one of Marks book cause you just don’t know what he’s going to put you through with each book. Highly recommend. A well deserved five stars from me. I didn’t want to put it down.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK