romance · Short Stories

Open Water – Caleb Azumah Nelson ★★★★

Blurb; Two young people meet at a pub in South East London. Both are Black British, both won scholarships to private schools where they struggled to belong, both are now artists – he a photographer, she a dancer – trying to make their mark in a city that by turns celebrates and rejects them. Tentatively, tenderly, they fall in love. But two people who seem destined to be together can still be torn apart by fear and violence.

My review; This is such a beautiful, delicate, raw and heart breaking read. It’s a short read at just under 150 pages but one that will impact you. No wonder it has won a Costa award. Its a romance/love story but also details what society is like for a young black man the issues he faces daily and how that impacts his life, feelings and relationships. A story that will be hard to forget. A well deserved four stars.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Christmas · romance

*BLOG TOUR* Christmas at the Borrow a Bookshop – Kiley Dunbar ★★★★★

Blurb; ‘Tis the season for finding love… and the perfect book

With just two weeks until Christmas, everything in Clove Lore should be perfect. But the latest holidaymaker to the Borrow a Bookshop is feeling far from festive…

Icelandic ex-bookseller Magnús Sturluson might be surrounded by love stories in the Bookshop, but he’s nursing a sadness that not even fiction can fix.

When Alexandra Robinson finds herself stranded in Clove Lore, she finds a safe place to hide from heartbreak. After all, all that’s waiting for her at home is a cheater boyfriend and the memories of her parents. As Alex finds herself embraced by the quirky village community, she finds her tough exterior thawing – and as she grows closer to Magnús, she finds an equally soft heart under his gruff shell.

It seems that Clove Lore is working its magic once again – until a great flood on Christmas Eve brings devastation in its wake. It’s up to Magnús and Alex to batten down the hatches and help bring the village back together again, while also introducing the locals to the Icelandic tradition of the jólabókaflóð – Yule book flood – where families and friends gather on Christmas Eve to exchange books and read together.

But can Magnús and Alex truly rescue the ruins of the village, and salvage their Christmas spirit? Or is there another complication lurking even closer than they thought?

A totally uplifting read that will lighten the winter gloom, for fans of Jenny Colgan and Trisha Ashley. Booklovers will adore this seasonal treat!

My Review; Yes. I know it’s September. But this is my first Christmas read of the year and it’s a good one. Worth it. I loved the previous book (The Borrow a Bookshop Holiday) so ofcourse I had to read this one and it didn’t disappoint. Another five star read. I’ve fallen in love with this little town. The characters and the bookshop ofcourse. The story is told over the Christmas period with two new fresh characters Magnus and Alex. Two Castaways. Brilliant story. Happy endings all round. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

chick-lit · romance

*BLOG TOUR* The Wedding Cake – Isabella May ★★★★

Blurb; One steamy summer in Spain. One accidentally double-booked eight-tier wedding cake that needs to put in a same day appearance at a rustic countryside finca AND a beachside villa. Two brides. Two grooms. Hundreds of hungry guests.

FREYA ASHCROFT, owner and culinary whizz at Marbella’s five star bakery (and general queen of dating disasters), is going to need a miracle to save this date. If only that was her sole dilemma. She’s also fallen head over heels in love with super hot fitness instructor, TIM NUTKINS… and his rippling abs.

Which would be fine, if he wasn’t one of her aforementioned male clients.

A forced proximity rollercoaster of a forbidden love romance with a sweet happy-ever-after.

My Review; What a lovely foodie, romance read. Told through three different characters Freya, Tim and Alice. A nice easy relaxing read which I really enjoyed. Different from my everyday genres I read. I loved most of the characters in this story except two these being the wedding planner and Piper. I loved Freya and Tim’s characters the most. The story follows two different weddings with Freya as the cake maker but has double booked the weddings on the same day. Can she fix it? Will everyone get a happy ending? I actually loved the ending of this story myself. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US