crime · Detective · suspense · thriller

Neon – G.S. Locke ★★★★

Blurb; A detective desperate for revenge. A hitwoman with one last job. A killer with both on his list. Detective Matt Jackson’s beloved wife, Polly, is the latest victim of a serial killer – Neon – who displays his victims amongst snaking neon lights. Suicidal but unable to kill himself, he hires someone to finish the job. But on the night of his planned murder he makes a breakthrough in the Neon case and offers his assassin, Iris, an irresistible opportunity: help Jackson find and kill Neon in return for his entire estate. What follows is a thrilling game of cat-and-mouse between detective, assassin and serial killer. But when Jackson discovers it’s not a coincidence that their paths have crossed, he begins to question who the real target has been all along…

My Review; This is another off my library pile and one that has been on my wishlist for a while. The cover and title had me intrigued and it didn’t disappoint me at all. It’s a gripping, fast paced, dark, tense, deadly and a page turner of a read. I devoured it. Something a little different crime wise. A very clever and imaginative criminal VS one hit woman and one ex cop. This gets personal and dark very fast. A cat vs mouse story but who will win?

Brilliantly written. I devoured it. Didn’t want to put it down. Parts had me on the edge of my seat! There is so much suspense in this story. The amount of times they were soo close to uncovering the truth! The ending broke me it does involve a death. NOOOOO! but no spoilers from me. Highly recommend. Really enjoyed it. A well deserved four stars.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · Young adult

Follow Me Back – Nicci Cloke. ★★★★

Blurb; A thrilling read, for fans of Gone Girl and We Were Liars.

There was no sign of a struggle, they whisper to each other. She took her phone but left her laptop behind.
Apparently, she’d met someone online, they write to each other in class, phones buzzing.
She ran away. She was taken.

The first time Aiden Kendrick hears about Lizzie Summersall’s disappearance is when the police appear at his front door. He and Lizzie used to be friends; they aren’t anymore. And when Aiden finds out that Lizzie had been talking to strangers on Facebook; that the police think she went to meet one of them, he begins to wonder how well he ever really knew her, and Aiden doesn’t know it yet, but with Lizzie’s disappearance his life is about to take a twisted and desperate turn.

My Review; This is one from my library pile. A YA, mystery. A girl goes missing but what really happened to her? There is a huge jaw dropping moment in this book that noone could see coming. A very cleverly written story. A page turner that knows how to capture the readers attention.

It’s a fast paced, easy read. The layout of the book contains a text message style in parts and it really is a perfect YA story with a happy ending. For me this was a cover pick and intriguing. It highlights the dangers of social media and talking to strangers which we all need to be aware of especially youngsters. Plenty of information left hidden from the investigation. Plenty of lies, secrets and deciet are about to become to light. Can they find her before it’s too late? Gripping. Thrilling. Tense.

Would highly recommend! A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

mystery · suspense · thriller

The House Guest – Mark Edwards ★★★★★

Blurb; A perfect summer. A perfect stranger. A perfect nightmare.

When British twenty-somethings Ruth and Adam are offered the chance to spend the summer housesitting in New York, they can’t say no. Young, in love and on the cusp of professional success, they feel as if luck is finally on their side.

So the moment that Eden turns up on the doorstep, drenched from a summer storm, it seems only right to share a bit of that good fortune. Beautiful and charismatic, Eden claims to be a friend of the homeowners, who told her she could stay whenever she was in New York.

They know you’re not supposed to talk to strangers—let alone invite them into your home—but after all, Eden’s only a stranger until they get to know her.

As suspicions creep in that Eden may not be who she claims to be, they begin to wonder if they’ve made a terrible mistake…

My Review; Another amazing read from Mark an author who has never let me down with his brilliant books. The House Guest is intriguing, mysterious and a gripping read. It does get a bit dark with a few deaths throughout but a very cleverly written and planned out story. Ruth and Adam were house guests until a stranger (Eden) turns up… Who is she really? A friend of the family? A stranger? An enemy?

A page turner of a read which had me second guessing everyone and trying to find out what happened to Ruth myself. A bit of a revelation/jaw dropping moment at the end for me which made me go OH!!!!

Brilliantly written, thrilling, fast paced, suspense filled and a page turner of a read. The cover suits this story so well. Always a pleasure to read one of Marks book cause you just don’t know what he’s going to put you through with each book. Highly recommend. A well deserved five stars from me. I didn’t want to put it down.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK