suspense · thriller · Young adult

*BLOG TOUR* Lies Like Wildfire – Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. ★★★★

Blurb; The monsters have known each other their whole lives. This is their final summer before college – time to hang out, fall in love and dream about the future.

Until they accidentally start a forest fire which destroys their hometown and leaves death in its wake.

Desperate for the truth to remain hidden, the group make a pact of silence.

But the twisted secret begins to spin out of control and when one of the friends disappears they all become suspects.

We know how it starts but where does it end?

Secrets and lies are everywhere in this compulsive page-turner, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying.

My Review; I absolutely loved this. A young adult (YA) thriller full of suspense. A real page turner. Fast paced. Will they be found out? Arrested? Feel the guilt?

The story focuses on a group of youngsters known as the monsters who accidently start a huge wildfire, as soon as it started they knew they messed up big time and their lives would change forever. With many losing their homes, businesses and pets alongside several deaths this is one huge mistake.

However what made this book for me was the main character Hannah. Her dad is the head of this investigation and she feels awful lying to him and being so close to him. It’s a race to the end to see the outcome for all of the group. Personally I would be livid for them causing so much destruction but they’re only young and they knew they made a huge mistake. Gripping. Thrilling. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

suspense · thriller · Young adult

*BLOG TOUR* Codename Firefly – C.J. Daugherty ★★★★

Blurb; Hunters are hunting the daughter of the Prime Minister… How long will she hide before it’s time to fight back? Gray Langtry is on the run. As the only child of the British Prime Minister, Gray’s life has been in turmoil ever since her mother was chosen to lead the country. Both she and her mother are targets of a Russian assassination plot. And what’s worse, members of her mother’s own cabinet are involved. A team of bodyguards never leaves her side. The press attention is relentless. And then there are the death threats. Now, after an attempt on Gray’s life, she has been moved to an elite boarding school in the British countryside. Shielded by high walls and locked gates, Gray finally feels safe, but the plotters are still hunting, and soon they will find her. Gray’s personal bodyguard, Julia, and the school’s young headmistress are determined to protect her. They both know how dangerous things are. The assassins searching for Gray are highly trained. And when they arrive they will aim to kill. Dylan, a mysterious American student, seems to know more than he should – but he’s always there when Gray needs him. Can she trust him? Can she trust anyone? As winter closes in and darkness falls, Gray will have to think fast. The hunters are coming.

My Review; This was such a good read! Very unique. Gripping. Gray is in a boarding school which houses very special children from people who want to hurt them, kidnap them and the media wanting to capture them. Kids like Gray… The presidents daughter. But can the school handle these intruders? Is Grey safe? Is the security tight? They’ll soon find out…

An action packed, tense, gripping and fast paced read. A real page turner that I devoured. A perfect YA read. Loved most of the characters including Greys friends. This would make a brilliant film or TV series. I’d love to see more of Grey & her friends. A read I won’t forget for a long time. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

horror · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Camp Death – Jim Ody ★★★★

Blurb: The place had a gruesome past that nobody wanted to talk about…

Camp Deathe is now a great place to spend the summer. Ritchie soon finds a group of outsiders like himself. Teenagers who ignore the organised activities, and bunk off in the old abandoned cabins deep in the woods. The cabins that have a history.

The campfire monster stories were meant to just scare them. Nobody expected them to come true. Then one of the teenagers disappears in the middle of the night.

Something is watching them. It hides in the woods and hunts at night.

Ritchie will have to uncover the secrets of the camp, and understand his own problems in order to survive.

My Review; I loved reading Jim Odys books in the past and this was no disappointment. What a brilliant, short horror… From the prologue I was intrigued and hooked.

This is so much more than just straight up horror it focuses on the teens, family, romance and friendships alongside the horror. Loved the whole thing. He made a very eerie setting. Parts had me holding my breathe and turning the pages for fun. Thrilling. Suspense filled. Tense. Creepy. Scary. Spooky. Dark. Heart pounding read. Another not to read alone at night without the lights on.

A camp I would never want to attend… Horror stories emerge about the camp from the past. Some altered… Some true. But what’s the true story here? Are they safe? Is this just a twisted game? Very spooky. The title says it all. Highly recommend. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US