mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Now You See Me – Chris McGeorge ★★★★

Blurb; Six people went in. Only one came out…

Introducing Standedge Tunnel: the longest canal tunnel in England.

Last year six students went in, and two and a half hours later, the boat reappeared on the other side with only one of the students, unconscious, and the dog.

The case of the Standedge Six was largely kept from the national media. The police investigation concluded that the only remaining student, Matthew, killed his friends, hid the bodies on the boat and returned later to move them to an undisclosed location.

Matthew is in prison . . . but maintains he is innocent.

Robert Ferringham is grieving for his missing wife, Sam. So when Matthew contacts him for help with his case, promising information on Sam, Robert has no choice but to help. But can he trust Matthew?

And how will he solve the insolvable case?

My Review; Oh my… This is the first book I have read by Chris McGeorge and I must say I am very impressed. Now You See Me is a cleverly written and plotted story. It has a massive, unexpected, in your face twist. True shocker. It is gripping, thrilling, fast paced, mysterious and a real page turner which I easily devoured.

This book pulls you in from the start with that unexpected phone call is how it all begins… Can Robert and Matthew work together to solve each others mysteries?

Now I’ve seen a lot of the other bloggers have actually researched into the tunnels involved in this book, I haven’t but I will be sure too. Many bloggers have said claustrophobic and they wouldn’t go in the tunnels themselves. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend. One you are bound to enjoy. A real mystery to solve. A puzzle.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* Keep Her Close – Erik Therme ★★★★★

Book Description:

Then: Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. What kind of person would abandon their daughter?
Now: Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. But her real father has sent her a letter.
And now Ally is missing.
A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

Author Bio: Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

My Review; Oh my goodness. What a belter of a story. If that prologue doesn’t draw the reader in I don’t know what will. This has to be one of the best prologues I must have read.

This story is a get set, go book. It’s a chase against time to find Ally. Both parent are concerned of her whereabouts and with no way of contacting her they have to discover whats really going on for themselves.

Dad is the typical dad, protective over his little girl. He goes into detective mode. Figuring out whose lying, whose telling the truth and who is helping. With a dark past himself he will stop at nothing until he finds his daughter. I understood where Ally was coming from and why she wanted to do what she did, but sometimes its better to just leave the past in the past.

A fast paced thriller, mystery and suspense filled story. I actually devoured this in an evening and stayed up late especially to finish it. Brilliant. I loved every minute of it. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend! Plenty of twists and unexpected turns for the reader to endure in this one. A real page turner. Will Ally be found?

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

crime · Detective · mystery · suspense · thriller

*BLOG TOUR* The Child Before – Michael Scanlon ★★★★

Blurb; She began to sing, the girl. Her voice was soft, so soft it was almost of the wind. It was a lullaby. She cradled her arms, rocking them gently back and forth. As if she was holding a baby. But she was not. Her arms were empty.

On a cold morning a cyclist finds the brutally-slaughtered body of a woman in her car, on a remote lane leading to the long-abandoned Irish village of Kelly’s Forge.

But when Detective Finnegan Beck arrives from the nearby town of Cross Beg to investigate he notices there’s a baby’s seat in the back of the car. A bottle of baby’s milk lying in the footwell. And no child.

Little Róisín isn’t the first child to go missing from that same remote location though. There was another baby girl, taken more than fifty years before, who was never found. Has too much time passed for there to be a connection, or does something – or someone – link these two crimes?

Beck claims he does not want to stay in Cross Beg. His heart is back in Dublin, with the woman he loves. But, knowing that a child’s life depends on him changes things. He knows he has to find the missing baby girl. Because if he doesn’t, he fears there’s a chance everyone will give up the baby for dead, just like they did before…

My Review; Happy Publication Day. The Child Before is book two in the Detective Finnegan Beck series. It reads perfectly fine as a standalone as I haven’t read book one, but I will be going back to it after reading this one.

The story is fast paced, dark, thrilling and gripping. Had me well and truelly hooked as they say. A real page turner that I devoured. The story is told through short chapters too which I prefer. I loved the work relationship between Claire and Beck, they make a great team. But does this current case relate to something from the past? Something unfinished? You’ll have to read it to find it. Brilliant. I really enjoyed it. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US