mystery · suspense · Young adult

T.I.G.E.R.S – M.A. Bennett ★★★★★

Blurb; The alluring yet corrupt STAGS society, where the rich and privileged play fast and loose with the lives of others, is revealed to be terrifyingly global …

Shafeen’s father, Prince Aadhish, has had a heart attack and is close to death. Desperately worried, Shafeen and Greer race from STAGS to Rajasthan. But Prince Aadhish is in a coma and unresponsive and they begin to realise that the Prince received a terrible shock, triggered by a decades-old guilty secret. But as Shafeen and Greer attempt to unlock the secret, they come to believe the answer lies with the de Warlencourt ancestor Colonel Montgomery, founder of the T.I.G.E.R. shooting club, which horrifyingly pursued low-caste Indians instead of tigers. It appears that ‘Monty’ brought the Order of the Stag to India, and the hunts may still be going on…

A thrilling next instalment in the STAGS series.

My Review; This is book four in the brilliant Stags series and I am absolutely loving this whole series. This book is a little different from the previous books as this is mostly set in India this time. It includes all the previous characters but not the school as much.

I devoured the majority of this book in a day it was just brilliant. Within it flicks back to the past for half the story through diary entries of a weekend of hunting, shooting and fishing that changes everything they knew. Parts had my jaw dropping. Very unexpected! And the ending I am hoping was like that to lead into the next book. Fingers crossed. Praying to God. I need the next book. Please.

A brilliant YA series that has me hooked. I never want it to end. Amazing. A well deserved five stars from me. Highly recommend the whole series to you all. A must read series.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

Emotional · Young adult

A Thousand Perfect Notes – C.G. Drews. ★★★★

Blurb; An emotionally charged story of music, abuse and, ultimately, hope.

Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music – because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.

When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?

My Review; I read a previous book by this author and really enjoyed it so I decided to pick this one up. This was a hard read for me at 27 years old. So more for a mature reader. It does contain quite violent scenes and abuse within the home. This is a really emotional story and parts hurt me to read. No child should have to experience what Beck and his sister have. Breaks my heart.

But it’s also a story full of friendship, love, music and a happy ending. It really did make me tear up. The author has written this story carefully but also tackled some tough issues within the story perfectly. A tough read. Becks mum is high on my characters to hate list! I awarded this four stars.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

suspense · thriller · Young adult

*BLOG TOUR* Lies Like Wildfire – Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. ★★★★

Blurb; The monsters have known each other their whole lives. This is their final summer before college – time to hang out, fall in love and dream about the future.

Until they accidentally start a forest fire which destroys their hometown and leaves death in its wake.

Desperate for the truth to remain hidden, the group make a pact of silence.

But the twisted secret begins to spin out of control and when one of the friends disappears they all become suspects.

We know how it starts but where does it end?

Secrets and lies are everywhere in this compulsive page-turner, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying.

My Review; I absolutely loved this. A young adult (YA) thriller full of suspense. A real page turner. Fast paced. Will they be found out? Arrested? Feel the guilt?

The story focuses on a group of youngsters known as the monsters who accidently start a huge wildfire, as soon as it started they knew they messed up big time and their lives would change forever. With many losing their homes, businesses and pets alongside several deaths this is one huge mistake.

However what made this book for me was the main character Hannah. Her dad is the head of this investigation and she feels awful lying to him and being so close to him. It’s a race to the end to see the outcome for all of the group. Personally I would be livid for them causing so much destruction but they’re only young and they knew they made a huge mistake. Gripping. Thrilling. A well deserved four stars from me.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US