Ghost story · Graphic Novels · Young adult

The Sad Ghost Club 2 – Lize Meddings ★★★★

Blurb: Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don’t belong anywhere? Like you’re almost… invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club. (You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

When two strangers meet at a party and realise they both feel different from everyone else there, they start the The Sad Ghost Club – a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don’t belong.

But when a third ghost wants to join the club, things get a bit more complicated. Can the two ghosts overcome their insecurities and uncertainties in their new friendship, and find a way to welcome new members to the club?

Stunningly illustrated, this is Volume 2 in a new graphic novel series, for fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.

My Review; This is a graphic novel meaning an easy read, beautifully illustrated throughout, not many words as such. But after loving book one I had to see what happened in book two. It’s such a simple story, but a beautiful one. I felt I could really relate to this story this morning. I just wanted to be left alone, shut the world off and read. Still do. But it’s a reminder you’re never alone. Things do get better. Someone is always there whether you know it or not.

It’s bringing together a community of people who feel alone. Left out. Forgotten and I love it. Would highly recommend to everyone. A well deserved four stars. We love the ghost club.

Amazon Link US

Amazon Link UK

romance · Young adult

Here’s To Us – Adam Silvera & Becky Albertalli ★★★★

Blurb: Ben has spent his first year of college working on his fantasy manuscript with his writing partner Mario, who is a great Spanish tutor, and an even better kisser. So why can’t he stop thinking about the fact that Arthur’s back in town two years after they called it quits?

Arthur is in New York for a dream internship on Broadway, with a boyfriend back at home that he couldn’t be happier with. But when he comes upon Ben cuddled up with a mystery boy, he starts to wonder if his feelings for Ben ever truly went away.

Even as the boys try to focus on their futures, they can’t seem to help running into each other in the present. Is the universe forcing them to question if they’re actually meant to be?

Possibly not. After all, things didn’t work the first time around.
Possibly yes. After all, the sparks are still flying.
Sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith and raise a glass.

Here’s to celebrating old friends!
Here’s to embracing new beginnings!
Here’s to believing in second chances!

My Review; Best read in order this follows straight on from What if it’s us? Both brilliant reads. Full of romance. Friendship. Summer. All familiar characters from book one. I was back with the gang spending my summer with them all including their new partners, new summer jobs and new secrets uncovered. But… After all this time do Ben and Arthur still have feelings for one another? I love them both so much!!

Brilliantly co-written. Addictive. Easy reading. A real page turner. Highly recommend. Fabulous, happy ending for everyone. Uplifting. A well deserved four stars. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US

mystery · suspense · thriller

Rock Paper Scissors – Alice Feeney ★★★★

Blurb; Think you know the person you married? Think again…

Things have been wrong with Mr and Mrs Wright for a long time. When Adam and Amelia win a weekend away to Scotland, it might be just what their marriage needs. Self-confessed workaholic and screenwriter Adam Wright has lived with face blindness his whole life. He can’t recognize friends or family, or even his own wife.

Every anniversary the couple exchange traditional gifts – paper, cotton, pottery, tin – and each year Adam’s wife writes him a letter that she never lets him read. Until now. They both know this weekend will make or break their marriage, but they didn’t randomly win this trip. One of them is lying, and someone doesn’t want them to live happily ever after.

Ten years of marriage. Ten years of secrets. And an anniversary they will never forget.

My review; Seen this story around alot lately and the hype. So I had to see what the hype was about. I get it. A brilliant read. The majority of which I devoured in one day. Fast paced. Unexpected. Jaw dropping. The outcome in this story I would have never expected. I was hooked. I didn’t know what was going to happen.

The story is told through the two main characters husband and wife duo Adam and Amelia. Set in a remote part of Scotland during a blast of snow and a bad winter. However, there is one more character present throughout who seemed to be wierd to me from the start living in the middle of nowhere alone and we can’t forget the dog now can we? A twisted but happy ending.

A very clever story. Well thought out. Enjoyed it. A well deserved four stars from me. Highly recommend.

Amazon Link UK

Amazon Link US